G-L-E-E

Episode title: Auditions

Premise: New football coach in town, Glee kids recruit, songs are performed.

Songs sung:

Empire State of Mind – Originally by Jay-Z and Alicia Keys. Sung by: Glee Club

Telephone- Originally by Lady Gaga. Sung by: Rachel and Sunshine

Billionaire– Originally by Travie McCoy and Bruno Mars. Sung by: New Kid Sam

Every Rose Has It’s Thorn– Originally by Poison. Sung by: New Kid Sam

What I Did For Love- Originally by the Broadway cast of A Chorus Line. Sung by: Rachel

Listen– Originally by cast of Dreamgirls. Sung by: Sunshine

Thoughts/Comments/Concerns: **minor spoilers below**

Well, well, well. Here we are again. A new season of GLEE! I was looking forward to Glee, but Internet, I’ve got to be honest with you I JUT HAVE TO. Out of the billion shows I do watch a week, the return of GLEE was just not on the top of that “I’M SO EXCITED” list. Yes, I do love this show dearly, but something about the later episodes last season– well it left something to be desired.

I do like Beiste. A lot. Although I am really, really sad to see Ken go! I loved him and his too short shorts. Also, so sad Finn is off the football team but HOW AWESOME was his cheerleading tryout? And please bring back as much of Jacob Ben Israel as you possibly can. And Sandy. You know what? I think I might like the secondary characters more than the regulars.

And the new Vocal Adrenaline coach- CHEYENNE JACKSON! I looooove him. For anyone who doesn’t know, he is a Broadway man (I mean, he has done other tv shows, but he is big in the Broadway scene) and he has an INCREDIBLE voice. Seriously, go find his stuff on youtube and listen to the pure amazingness that is his voice. I recommend his stuff from Xanadu.

Other new characters I like are…the only other two new characters there were. Sunshine and Sam. Although did you know that the kid who is playing Sam, get this, his real name is CHORD OVERSTREET. No, I’m NOT joking. Also, he looks like a kid straight out of the Disney channel. And Sunshine is great but did anyone else notice the arm flinging during her song? I laughed a little, no lie.

Okay, since it sounds like I’m being overly negative, let’s move on to the music! I loved their version of Empire State of Mind. Sometimes when they sing together as a group they tend to sound like kidz bop (aka the time they sang My Life Would Suck Without You) but I would definitely listen to this song again. Also, may I just say that I LOVEDDDD the line in there about Will and the need for him to stop rapping?

And Billionaire is just an amazing song to belt out in the car (particularly off key) and CHORD OVERSTREET did a fantastic job. I am glad that they didn’t feel the need to make Finn get all jealous and compete with him like Rachel did with Sunny. I hope they have CHORD OVERSTREET sing a lot more in the future. Also, Mike’s dancing? It made me laugh.

Speaking of Rachel and Sunny, I looove their voices together. But was it just me or did Rachel look like she wanted to chew Sunshine’s face off while they were singing Telephone?

Every Rose Has Its Thorn was a great song sung by CHORD OVERSTREET.

Listen was fantastic, but again I must ask, what was with the crazy arm thrusting?

Finally we had Rachel close the show out with What I Did For Love. (Because it wouldn’t be GLEE if Rachel didn’t produce a show-stopping number that involved some amount of tears, not that I’m complaining, her voice is beautiful.) Now, I was a big fan of this song long before it aired…last week. But Rachel’s version is by far the best I’ve heard. Definitely going on the ipod.

Final thoughts:

I think as a first episode back it was okay, but I know that I know that I know that next week will definitely be AMAZING. I think they set some things up in this episode, but I feel like my biggest problem with it was that nothing seemed like it happened. If that sentence made any sense at all. (I’m running on cold meds right now, mmmkay?)

I enjoyed watching Rachel talk to Sunshine in the bathroom. I also think Will is an a-star-star-hole. I expected that much out of Sue, because she is Sue, but Will? Not cool man. So your budget is cut. Cry like the little girl you are, then put on your panties and get over it. Also, Quinn back on the cheerios- classic. Love it.

I do feel really sad about Finn getting kicked off the team, and I do feel sad for Artie. I think Rachel sending Sunshine to a crack house was absolutely terrible, and I don’t really like the kind of character they are making Rachel out to be. I know she has been this crazy and demanding and psychotic since the beginning, but I feel like they are making it too easy for everyone to hate her. They keep saying “We are GLEE! We are a family! But then every chance they get, they yell at/diss (or is it dis?)/accuse Rachel of things, and it is kind of getting annoying. I’d like, just once, for everyone to get along at least until halfway through the episode.

All in all, adequate episode, can’t wait for next week.

——————–

Just an aside, in case anyone cares. I do watch a lot of shows because I have so much homework. Seriously, I’m either in class, walking to class, driving home, or working on homework until about 8pm every night. A nice show at the end of the evening is just what I love. Here is my schedule in case anyone wants to watch along with me! DO IT!

Mondays: I watch How I Met Your Mother when it airs, I record Chuck and usually watch it on the weekend.

Tuesdays: I watch Glee and now I am hooked on Raising Hope and Running Wilde. I record NCIS and watch it after Running Wilde. Tuesdays are MY NIGHT!

Wednesday: Nothing.

Thursday: I watch Bones! And I record My Generation and watch it on the weekend.

Friday: Nothing.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “G-L-E-E

  1. I thought the jokes were great, the songs were pretty good and the plot was just more of the same. I love the show for seeing what songs they’re going to use and I really like the humor, so it was still a win for me, but I’m really curious how they’re going to drag on the neverending plot cycle. Every three or four episodes does the same escalation of action and by the fifth episode they’re right back at square one.

    1. Glee club is in trouble! Glee club isn’t cool!
    2. Save Glee club! Let’s BE COOL!
    3. We’ve saved Glee club and we’re cool!
    4. People hate us again. Back to step one.

    I still greatly enjoy the show, don’t me wrong. I’m glad I watch it and I’ll be coming back every week, but I’m hoping by midway through Season 2 they’ll figure out SOME kind of new plot devices.

    Billionaire was actually one of my favorite songs they’ve ever done. I also agree that they did a good job of dodging the Kidz Bop sound on Empire State of Mind here. What I Did For Love sounded great, but if they would stop acting like Rachel had an interesting story and focus on ANY other character, I would be really happy. She and Finn have no chemistry and her diva-ness just annoys me.

    Arty and Puck need to step up and take more plot-lines. They’re by far the most interesting characters to me.

    All in all, I thought it was good and I was entertained the whole time. I just hope they don’t turn it into the Season 1 clone they’re setting themselves up for. I already watched Season 1 and it was great. Give me an actual second season!

Leave a Reply

