Two Hundred and Sixty-Four

I am officially 264 months old. Practically an old lady.

My day of birth began normally; the clock turned midnight and my roommate and I had just finished baking sugar cookies. We didn’t have any candles to put in the cookie so I could blow it out and make a wish, so we did the best we could- my sunflower scented yankee candle candle. We lit it, she sang happy birthday, and then I blew it out, and we each ate a cookie. Then I went to bed relatively earlier than I have been, because I had to wake up for a lot of EXCITEMENT and BIRTHDAY ADVENTURES.

Once I woke up at a reasonable time, my roommate and I traveled to the Philadelphia Art Museum.

So pretty!

It was about an hour drive (an hour and a half if you count the part where we got lost trying to find the parking garage- seriously, it is HIDDEN). Now, normally an hour drive doesn’t bother me. But it was about 666 deg outside (read-HELL) and it was humid, and my roomate’s car has no air conditioning.

SAY WHAAAAAT?!?!?

Yes, I’m serious. SO once we were pretty much liquified, we finally found the parking garage, and made it into the beautiful museum. Then it was all PAINTINGS! And STATUES! And WEIRD THINGS THAT ARE SUPPOSEDLY ART THINGS BUT REALLY LOOK LIKE FIVE YEAR OLDS MADE THEM! You know, the usual. We made it thorough both sets of European Art (we even saw a room that was meant to look exactly like the Hall of Mirrors from Versailles) and then we went to the modern and contemporary art exhibits where I found what is probably one of my favorite collections everrrr.

The artist’s name is Cy Twombly and the collection is called 50 Days at Iliam and it is pretty much a narrative of the last 50 or so days of the Trojan war. In order, the titles of the pieces are: Shield of AchillesHeroes of the AchaeansVengeance of AchillesAchaeans in BattleThe Fire that Consumes All Before ItShades of Achilles, Patroclus, and HectorHouse of PriamIlians in BattleShades of Eternal NightHeroes of the Ilians. Read all about the work here, and here, and see the artist’s official website here. It is a series of ten paintings/drawings, and I must say this is my favorite of the group:

The Fire that Consumes All Before It

After looking at nearly 2 1/2 floors of art, we decided it was time for lunch. We ate at the museum’s fancy restaurant and I got champagne and my roommate got delicious wine and we ate lovely food and I attempted some kind of modern/contemporary art photo.

The Portrait of a Young Girl with Brunette Hair

After this, we went to the gift shop only to find nothing to buy. Then it was time to go home. Except, waitforit….IT WAS RAINING.

Do you know what this meant Internet? Well, DO YOU? It meant…window- UP.

It.

Was.

SO.

FREAKING.

HOT.

I almost died of heat stroke. No, I’m pretty sure I *did* die of heat stroke and I’m now a ghost. Except I don’t believe in ghosts (except for this one), so I must not have died. Anywho, I finally made it back to my apartment and began to solidify. Then it was time for HOME where there were PRESENTS.

I went to my house and found the entire dining room decorated HARRY POTTER style. Lovey, no? YES.Oh, and, no big deal, MY MOTHER MADE ME A SNITCH CAKE.

What is that? Ummmm, have you even read Deathly Hallows? No? (Do you even know what that is? It’s the seventh Harry Potter book. Go read it NOW.) In the book it says:

“Out of the way, out of the way!” sang Mrs. Weasley, coming through the gate with what appeared to be a giant, beach-ball sized Snitch floating in front of her. Seconds later Harry realized that it was his birthday cake, which Mrs. Weasley was suspending with her wand, rather than risk carrying it over the uneven ground.

And my mother made me one. Ah-maze-ing. It was so cute!! It didn’t magically float, and it wasn’t the size of a beach ball (unnecessary as there was only five people eating it, not to mention all the CUPCAKES!) but I’m positive it was a million times better than the one Mrs. Weasley made. And way more adorable.

SO CUTE.

You're my cupycake.

All things Harry Potter

Oh, wait, that's right. My brother IS Harry Potter.

We went to the OLIVE GARDEN for dinner, which I looooove. (Remember that time they mentioned Olive Garden on Clone High? No? “Maybe we could have dinner. Perhaps the Olive Garden. It’s like eating in the private kitchen of a delightful Italian stereotype!” Still nothing? …..) Well we were seated at a booth in the middle of two other booths. And there was a annoyingly delightfully LOUD family sitting THISCLOSETOUS. And they were all pretty middle aged except for the ancient greatgreatgreatgreat grandparents sitting with them. And all the youngsters were trying to convince the greatgreatgreatgreat grandparents sitting with them to…….. oh gosh, you just won’t believe it. They were convincing them to buy and iPhone. No, no I am not joking. But get this– the ancient grandmother STILL HAD DIALUP.

Yes, she still had dialup and didn’t understand “those physical buttons because she has 68 emails a day.” Her words not mine. And our waiter was terrrrible, but it made it more enjoyable.

Then we went home for cake and I opened presents and got 15 books.

Look at all the books!

FIFTEEN. Whaaaat. They were 3 random books (one of which was a book of Mythology, a subject I briefly considered getting my masters in before I realize, oh, hey, I DON’T SPEAK LATIN AND GREEK), 3 books about the Irish mob (because I loves the Irish mob), 5 Shakespeare books (duh), 3 Jane Austen books, and 1 Harry Potter book. I also got the first season of Scrubs, and FINALLY completed my collection of the series. I proudly own all eight seasons of Scrubs and can quote almost every single episode, THAT is how much I watch it.

I also got seasons 3 and 4 of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, oh, wait, no I didn’t because my brother STOLE THEM FROM ME. You see, it has become a running joke in my family because my mother (whom I absolutely adore) buys television shows for me when they are on sale. And I am grateful, don’t get me wrong, but this means they aren’t usually in order of the seasons. It doesn’t bother me, but having organized my dvds, I noticed a pattern. I mean, the last season of Scrubs I needed was the FIRST. I think I have seasons 2 and 4 of House, seasons 1,4, 5, and 6 of That 70’s Show, …etcetera, etcetera, you get the picture. It is funny, because I unwrapped seasons 3 and 4 of Sunny, when I don’t even own the first two. I would like to own them, but I don’t. Then my mother realized they were for my brother’s birthday, and he quickly snatched them away from me. Overall the story is more amusing than it is tragic, although I may need therapy.

We were going to see Inception but by the time we had finished everything we would have to have gone to the late late late showing and everyone was falling asleeps. But I did see it Monday and it was ammmmmmmmazing.

And that was the story of the day I turned two hundred and sixty-four months old.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

