The Countries of the World

So yesterday my friend and I were getting ready to study together for a map quiz that I had for my World Lit class. Because we are in 8th grade. Seriously, I haven’t had a map quiz since high school. It was adorable. Anyway, I’m just putting on shoes and getting ready, no big deal, nothing out of the ordinary, my room’s overhead lights STILL don’t work, blah blah blah when suddenly SOMEONE STARTED FIRING A CANNON.

For once in your lives, I am not exaggerating. I kid you not, they keep a cannon at Memorial Hall, one of the buildings on my campus which happens to be really close to my dorm. So they fire the thing and I’m pretty sure that we are all going to die. And so I did the obvious– because let’s be honest, what else do you do when you are going to die– I tweeted my last words:

And then, because I didn’t think you understood the magnitude of the SONIC BOOM happening over and over and over, I tweeted:

It was so scary. And then it was over. So I decided since I had all of my limbs in tact it would be okay to venture out and get coffee. Because these days, that is all it takes to sustain me. You guys– I’ve been drinking A LOT of coffee. Anyway, that is besides the point. My friend and I were walking to the street on which coffee is sold, when we WENT BACK IN TIME. How is this possible you may (or may not) be asking. I don’t even know. One minute we were in the year 2010, the next minute THERE WERE MEN WITH MUSKETS.

[pictures will be coming when my internet connection doesn’t suck so much.]

As we kept walking we saw more and more military men, some real and some re-enacting. When we got to the street that sells me coffee, I overheard a lady stating the parade was late and it should be starting soon.

Um, WHAT?

A PARADE???!?!?!??!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!!?!?

My friend and I FREAKED OUT and immediately grabbed spots on the curb. We wanted to be IN THE ACTION. For the next hour we witnessed many military people walking by, waving at us. A lot of them were not real, because I am pretty sure I saw Johnny Tremain. But then all these emergency vehicles came by and it was splendid.

I love parades, but even more than that, I love parades that you just stumble upon. Best part of my day fo sho.

In the end I wrote a song about the countries I had to memorize. I then recorded a video for my friends who also had to memorize these countries. And because I will do ANYTHING for you Internet, I am including it here. Because you need to know (some of) the countries of Africa, Asia, and The Caribbean. Enjoy.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “The Countries of the World“, posted with vodpod

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Countries of the World

  1. Genevieve

    I wish you would write a book because I could read stuff you write all day!!! You make me laugh!

  2. Genevieve

    Oh and by the way….. I love how you develop an accent at the end of the song on the words Porto – Rico!! To funny!! (stick to writing!)

Leave a Reply

