2010 Oscar Fashion Wrap Up

Last year I did an overview of Oscar Fashion. It was so much fun I am going to do it again (instead of homework). Luckily I had far more people on my best dressed/ good list than I had on my bad. So here we go!

Let’s start with the best dressed category of the evening.

This was probably the hardest category. There can only be one winner for best dressed male and female! After a lot (A LOT) of deliberation, my vote goes to:

Demi Moore and Zac Efron.

Demi’s Atelier Versache dress was SO beautiful; I was obsessed with it all night. At first, I didn’t even recognize her! The more they showed this dress, the more I fell in love with it. The color of the dress perfectly matched her skin tone, and the fit was stunning. I loved the bodice, and usually I am not a fan of the ruffles under the waist, but she really pulled it off. She didn’t overdo the jewelry, which really worked. Simply gorgeous. Zac Efron got a “HOLY FRICK” out of me, which means he stepped it up a notch from last year’s hair disaster. Not to go into too much detail (because my dad reads this blog- hi dad!) but that suit fit him NICELY. Good grief he is a hottie.

And now for the honorable mention best dressed:

Cameron Diaz and Tom Ford

Cameron looked shockingly beautiful in her Oscar de la Renta gown. I say shockingly because, for once, her hair, dress, jewelry and makeup all worked in her favor and she looked… put together. Also, she was missing the ever present gum that she is always seen chewing during awards shows. I was very surprised when she stepped onto the red carpet. I wish she could do this look always! And of course, Tom Ford looked beautiful in his own creation.

Rachel McAdams and Maggie Gyllenhaal

I think Rachel McAdams is one of the most beautiful women in all of Hollywood, and she looked so lovely in the lively Eli Saab dress. Her hair and makeup created the perfect ensemble. Maggie also went for a bolder pattern and looked beautiful. Maggie is always hit or miss for me (mostly miss) but I loved this Dries Van Noten gown the second I saw it.

Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds

Rounding out the best dressed honorable mentions are Sandra and Ryan. Sandra looked beautiful in her Marchesa gown. Her hair was quite lovely and her makeup was very natural looking which went well with her dress. And when does Ryan NOT look good?

Moving on, we come to the “Almost There” category:

Miley Cyrus and George Clooney

Miley‘s dress was stunning….from the waist down. I feel like the designer (Jenny Packham) forgot to finish the top of the dress. Of course, Miley’s slouching posture didn’t help things. I think she could have made it work if she would have kept her shoulders up like a normal person. And I love me some George C, but come on. What was with his hair?

Zoe Saldona and Kate Winslet

Zoe‘s Givenchy dress looks great from the waist up. And Zoe’s dress looks good from the waist down. But these two halves make a rather terrible whole. The color, however, looked beautiful on her! And Kate’s Yves Saint Laurent gown looked lovely, but I don’t particularly like the color of this dress on her skin tone and the semi-awkward waistline.

Anna Kendrick and Sarah Jessica Parker

Anna is beautiful and this Elle Saab gown is beautiful, but I feel as though the color washes her out. Yes, she wears it quite nicely, but I think it would have been pretty in a slightly darker hue. SJP is known for her outrageous dresses, and I must say I disliked this Chanel Couture at first. However, as the night progressed it looked better and I grew to semi-like it. I just think it has an awkward fit. It if was more fitted to her body, it would have looked fabulous!

Meryl Streep and Charlize Theron

Okay, now. I love Meryl Streep but I have always hated her outfits. They are dull, boring, and don’t fit her very well. This year’s Chris March gown was better than last, but I still wasn’t a fan. The white was lovely and fresh, but I didn’t really like the hemline. Charlize’s Dior Haute Couture dress definitely caused some controversy, but honestly I kind of like it! I think the roses are outrageous and thought they maybe should have been a band of roses around the waistline. But the fit is great and the color looked fantastic on her.

And finally we come to the Worst Dressed section. This year my pick for the absolute worst dressed is:

Vera Farmiga

Holy Frick this dress is horrid. I mean really, really horrid. The color looks beautiful on her, but then I’m like, what the frick is she doing wearing a fan? What is weird is this gown is made by Marchesa, as was Sandra Bullock’s gown. I wonder what went wrong. I just….words just can’t…. must. go. throw. up.

Worst dressed honorable mentions go to:

JLO and Diane Kruger

JLO is lovely, but this Armani Prive dress has a lot of…stuff going on. A lot of bad stuff. And I think Diane is absolutely beautiful, but this dress is a mess. I love the top, I love the ruffles, and I love the train, but I hate it all together. This dress has the potential to be simply stunning, but it ended up a mess.

Well there you have it. Feel free to let me know if you agree/ disagree with my choices! Or if I left some people off this list that you would have loved to see!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

