Mission Accomplished. Thank You, and Good Night.

So at the beginning of this year (it is still 2009 while I’m writing this), I was all “I’M TOTALLY GOING TO READ 50 BOOKS IN ONE YEAR!” And I was doing it—reading books, turning them out LIKE A MACHINE. But then… the machine started to slow. And then it just quit working. And I had to change a few of the rules. You see, I bet you thought I stopped doing this. I thought I stopped as well. Which is why I changed some rules around a bit. So let’s take a moment to review these “official rules”:

Rule #1: I can not include the Twilight series because I just read them three times in a row. I need to stretch out a bit.

I made this rule last as long as I could. But then I caved. There is something about those books, as flawed as they are, that just pulled me in. I caved. I needed books and they are an easy read.

Rule #2: I can not include any school assigned book. This means any book I am assigned while in college. I can however, go back and read some books assigned in high school. Which I plan to do.

Yeah, totally broke this rule when I realized there was NO POSSIBLE way I could get 50 books in there with no school assigned readings. I mean, maybe 30 at the most. Whatever.

Rule #3: (I’m regretting this rule already) but I can not read Hamlet. I have read that so many times and I am actually going to be reading it in my Shakespeare class this semester, so I shouldn’t really count it even though it is my favorite Shakespeare play. I want to try and read those I haven’t before.

Well I broke rule #2, and one of the assigned books was Hamlet. I can’t help it. That is like dangling some heroin in front of an addict and being all “oh, no, just *look* at it. You can’t have any. Sorry.” Totally mean and uncalled for.

So basically, I threw out all the official rules and decided to read 50 books (or plays) of any nature. The time is now 11:52 and I finished my 50th book not ten minutes ago. That is just how I roll Internet. So, without further ado, here are my 50 books, in no particular order, with a few notes about each one. I’d like to say a big thank you to myself for actually completing this, and a big thank you to all of my relatives who pestered me every day to read.

1. 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

I loved this book. Maureen is a genius and has cleverly set everything up for a sequel, which will debut sometime in 2011 (I believe).

2. The Burmudez Triangle by Maureen Johnson

Not at all what I expected, but a delightful read. (I totally sounded like a snobby book reviewer there.) Can’t decide if I liked the ending, or totally hated it.

3. Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson

For some reason I thought the plot of this book was something completely different. I really liked this book though, and I suggest reading this before Burmudez Triangle.

4. Let It Snow by Maureen Johnson, John Green, and Lauren Myracle

Three different authors tell sort of kind of the same general story from three different character’s perspectives. Basically, this book is awesome.

5. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

This book is so fun. Definitely the funniest of John Green’s books; the footnotes are pretty much what makes this book. I love it.

6. Paper Towns by John Green

I love Margo and I hate Margo. I will never be able to decide which, although I lean more towards I hate Margo. Read it and let me know what you think.

7. Looking for Alaska by John Green

My favorite book by John Green and, no exaggeration, one of my favorite books in general. **Possible spoiler alert- this is not a happy ending book.

8. George’s Marvelous Medicine by Ronald Dahl

This was my favorite book as a kid; I love everything about it and would read it a million times.

9. Broken Glass by Arther Miller

A BRILLIANT play. I adored it, and would love to see it performed!

10. Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

David Sedaris is my hero.

11. Naked by David Sedaris

Seriously, there is nothing he can write that I would hate.

12. Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris

You should read David Sedaris’ books.

13. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

This is definitely a “first book”—meaning her books get progressively better as the go on. Not my favorite of the series by far, but not my least favorite.

14. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

I adore, simply ADORE Professor Flockheart.

15. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Very nicely done J.K. You are the master of entertainment.

16. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

The book was about nine-hundred-millin-zillion-bajillion times better than the movie. I cannot stress this enough.

17. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

Good book. Sad, and I hate Umbridge, but I suppose that is the point.

18. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling

Hands down, favorite book of the series.

19. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

So sad to see everything come to an end. Epilogue SUCKED.

20. Twilight by Stephanie Myers

Good book; very captivating. I couldn’t put it down.

21. Eclipse by Stephanie Myers

You’re probably wondering, so I’ll just tell you. I don’t read Breaking Dawn. I sobbed the entire time I read it the first time through, so I don’t read it. Eclipse is good.

22. New Moon by Stephanie Myers

I mean, if you don’t focus on the fact that there is absolutely NO WAY ON EARTH Bella could get pregnant, then it is a good book.

23. The Victim by Saul Bellow

Good book, but a bit dry at times, but I didn’t hate it.

24. The Fixer by Bernard Malamud

Good grief I thought this book would never end. I want those five years of my life back.

25. The Chosen by Chiam Patok

Simply fantastic. Everyone should read this.

26. The Reader by Bernhard Schlink

Oh my goodness if this wasn’t one of the saddest books I read this year. The movie followed it almost exactly. Very good adaptation.

27. Goodbye Columbus by Philip Roth

Phillip Roth became one of my new favorite old authors after reading this. I LOVED Goodbye Columbus and hope to read more of his books.

28. Lovingkindness by Anne Rophie

A good book; very entertaining and interesting.

29. Survival in Auschwitz by Primo Levi

Good book, but a bit dry and boring in places.

30. America and I by Anzia Yezierska

Fantastic short stories by women moving to America. Loved it!

31. Maus Volume I: My Father Bleeds History by Art Spiegelman

I didn’t care for the characters of the story, but the story was really good. If that makes sense.

32. Maus Volume II: And Here My Troubles Began by Art Spiegelman

It is mainly told in flashback, so I didn’t like the “current” characters. I liked the flashback characters. They changed over time.

33. Documents of the Holcost by Edited by Yitzhak Arad, Yisrael Gutman,
and Abraham Margaliot

An all around fascinating book; more of a “text book” than a novel, obviously, but this was a very interesting read.

34. The Racial State: Germany 1933-1945 by Michael Burleigh and Wolfgange Wippermann

I read this book for class, but I’m including it on the list because I read every, single, stinking page. Very, very dry. But quite a few of the chapters were interesting enough to keep me reading.

35. Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen

Fantastic book. Very different from the movie. I liked them both in different ways. Overall the book was just fantastic.

36. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

Very different from the movie. Ending was abrupt, but overall I liked it well enough. Definitely want to read more of Capote’s works.

37. Hamlet by William Shakespeare

Duh. This is my favorite Shakespeare play and I just adore Hamlet. Even if he is one of the most emo characters ever written.

38. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight by Anonymous

Actually, this was a very, very interesting story.

39. The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer

I read the majority of the Canterbury Tales. I thought they were good, but I don’t know why my professor is so OBSESSED with Chaucer.

40. Dr. Faustus by Christopher Marlowe

Feel free to never read this. Boring and slow and dry and I wasn’t a fan. Although, this IS where we get the famous, “Is this the face that launched a thousand ships?” Which was quite funny.

41. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Great! I love, love, loved it. Different set up than the psychedelic Disney version, and they left out some interesting things.

42. Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

Yes, I am counting this because I’d never read it before.

43. The Year of Secret Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty

I cannot tell you how unbelievably good this book was. I read it in four hours. FOUR HOURS. Just… go read it.

44. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

You either love this book or hate it. (Or so I’ve been told.) I loved it and recommend it to everyone.

45. Speak by Laurie Halse Aderson

Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic book. I loved it!

46. The Bro Code by Barney Stinson

Technically, according to Bro Code Article 4, I shouldn’t even know about this book. By my mother bought it for me for Christmas and if you know me you know how much I love How I Met Your Mother and, more importantly, Barney Stinson. So it just makes sense.

47. Spring Awakening by Steven Sater and Duncan Sheik

My mother wouldn’t take me to see this controversial musical, so the book version of the play is as close as I’m going to get. I LOVE Duncan Sheik and his music has truly made this play so much better.

48. My Teacher Ate My Homework by Dan Greenburg

This was actually a really, really good book! Meant for little kids, it was funny, sarcastic, entertaining, and most important—interesting. I wish someone would adapt it into a young adult book.

49. Oh the Places You’ll Go by Dr. Seuss

A classic. I read this while on one of my many doctor visits.

50. Leaping Beauty by Gregory Maguire

This is the man responsible for WICKED. He is amazing. I definitely suggest this book to any and everyone. It was fun to read about fairytales all mixed and changed up. As the stories went on they got funnier and funnier. Definitely will be reading this one again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

