This is what happens when I don’t get my Netflix movies in time. (Also, I’m delirious from studying.)

Ode to my mailbox

By Lauren of room 213

Oh mailbox you are so small,

Yet so full of great opportunities.

But why must you remain empty?

Every day I come to see you

With joy in my heart

And a smile on my face.

But there you sit, staring at me.

As I turn the key,

I open the door

To see what letters are waiting—

But I just stare at your

Cold

Empty

Shallow

Gray walls.

You perplex me, mailbox.

You offer such lovely notes

But only at your convenience.

Why must you torture me mailbox?

Why must you force me to trudge,

Trudge back to my room with a heavy heart

Empty-handed and alone.

I hate you mailbox!

I hate you with the burning fire of a thousand suns,

And yet…

And yet, I love you Mailbox.

I love the joy you bring me with one sweet note.

I love the feeling of hope you bring me,

The way your walls light up with every stamp and return label.

The precious moments go by

The ticking of the clock—a loud reminder of the seconds

I’ve wasted away

From you.

So please mailbox,

Please bring cheer to my life.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “This is what happens when I don’t get my Netflix movies in time. (Also, I’m delirious from studying.)

  1. Genevieve

    This made me very very sad!! However… I can’t ever seem to get the correct address from you so that I can send you things!!!!

  2. Lauren

    This is fantastic.

  3. improbablefiction

    Why thank you Lauren!

    (Also, I should point out to anyone reading, the Lauren that just replied to my post is NOT me. It is a different Lauren, okay? Okay.)

Leave a Reply

