Everybody Loves Disco!

Once of the first things my freshman English professor taught me was that if you don’t know what to write, just sit down, start typing (or literally put the pen to paper and start writing) and let your words flow. Eventually an idea will come to you.

I knew that I wanted to participate in NaNoWriMo this year, but I didn’t think I would have the time, let alone enough to say for 50,000 words. I had a general plot, as in I had an opening paragraph, but that was it. No real idea of where I wanted to go with my novel. Then I found myself signed up on the website (be my buddy here) and suddenly BAM! I was doing NaNoWriMo. So I sat down and typed my awesome opening paragraph. Then I followed my dear, sweet professor’s advice and just continued writing. I had no idea what the plot was going to be. Suddenly I’m 1,496 words into it and I type one sentence, one measly little random sentence and I have my plot. Well, when I say plot I mean general direction of where I want the story to go. I have the ending clear in my mind. I can see the finish line. I just have about 48,000 more words to get there.

I don’t think I’m ready to share the plot of the novel with you just yet, as I myself am still trying to figure it all out. But I will share with you a little excerpt of what I’ve written, and maybe it will catch your interest? Don’t worry, this is NOT the opening paragraphs. This is about 2,000 words into the novel. Speaking of, is it weird that I’m 2,000 words into the novel and haven’t even revealed my main characters first name? Don’t worry, it’s coming within the next paragraph. Not that I’ll be posting that here. More of a mental note. Right. Moving along… the excerpt.

At first glance this morning I not only saw no presence of my mother, but no presence of her wedding dress. Having a minor freak out I rushed into the closet, pushing clothes out of the way, consequences be damned, until I found it. As I walked out of the closet I couldn’t help but wonder why she had taken the time to hide it. Was she hiding it from me? Or like so many other things in this house, was she hiding so she didn’t have to remember the life she once had?

I did a quick check in the rest of the rooms in the house; no sign of my mother. Though I hate to say it, I checked for running cars shut it the windowless garage, my mother’s limp body dangling over the drivers seat; a suicide note, containing all the words she wanted to say but simply couldn’t, clinging romantically to the windshield wiper. Alas, all I found was an empty garage in need of a serious cleaning session. I decided to make myself some lunch and wait for her to come back. Let’s be honest, this isn’t the first time she has come home during the middle of the day.

What do you think? Is it attention grabbing? Feel free to leave you opinions in the comments! I’m off to dreamland.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

