“Aww I Got a Rock.”

So often on this blog I talk about me. ‘Tis only natural, I suppose, but how are *YOU* Internet? Are you doing okay? We are getting really close to this day known as Halloween… what are you dressing up as? I honestly have not a single party to go to, so I am not dressing up. I think I may go to my parents house, watch a movie, and pass out candy to the little trick-or-treaters. Does any one you know actually trick? I would think that so many kids just want free candy they don’t have time to plan out elaborate tricks. Is this true? Am I so far removed from societal practices with this holiday that I am seriously missing out on some awesome tricks?

I’m quite ready for Thanksgiving. I adore Thanksgiving. I can’t wait to tell you guys what I am thankful for, because that is a very long list. I also can’t wait until Thanksgiving, because as soon as I am in the car on the way to North Carolina I will have completed my French presentation on Chamonix, as well as my oral exam. Last semester we did them the week before the final, this semester they are the Monday before Thanksgiving. I think after those two events it will be smooth sailing, that is, until the exam. Yikes! I don’t even want to think about that. I’m telling you what Internet, I am seriously going to go insane by the end of this semester. I thought LAST semester was bad; handing in a typed paper every single Monday was NOTHING compared to what I’ve had to do. And I’ve only been in these stupid classes for two months! Let me see, already I’ve had three presentations with two coming up next week, and before you go “oh presentations-NBD” I should point out that these are for EDUCATION classes, ergo they are no simple presentations. Oh no. I have to make a lesson plan and teach the class an assigned topic. Have you ever tried to teach a room full of 18-22 year olds subject-verb agreement?

I didn’t think so. I’ve had to teach about subject-verb agreement, gifted and talented students, learning disabilities, Asperger’s Syndrome, and next week I have to teach these people how to revise papers. And then, of course, I have to practically memorize my French presentation and I’m already dealing with the fact that my professor doesn’t like me very much. My mother calls it “a conflict of personalities” which is totally true, but the thing is I HAVEN’T DONE ANYTHING CONFLICTING. I’ve been in class all but one day (and we can miss up to four!), I’ve paid attention in class, I’ve volunteered to answer plenty of questions… I just suck at French! I think he thinks that if he treats me a certain way my grade won’t reflect badly on him, just me. And I’ve asked him questions after class and get a reply that is about three seconds of explanation, like he doesn’t need to be wasting his time answering my questions. But I shall not let it get me down, Internet!

I’ve also been crazy busy with papers. And I’m not talking about measly one page papers or book reflections. I’m talking about four hours of research for a psychology paper on bullying, a three hour research paper on the origin and history of the word “KIND” and its uses in middle English, a three hour research paper on teaching a gifted student, and various other hours and hours of research required type papers. On top of all that, I’ve had meetings and tests to study for and I somehow have to find time to sleep and function. Oh and watch CSI:Miami.

Is anyone else as obsessed with that show as me? I know for certain my sister is NOT. Anyone who hates Horatio as much as she does is no sister or friend of mind. You guys, that show just… is amazing. I don’t know. Call me a dork or nerd or freak; I just love it so much more than a person should. I had to stop watching because of school and now that I have NETFLIX I’ve decided to pick up where I left off. And boy have things gotten intense! Intense, but awesome. And I should stop here because you are probably already laughing at me. And speaking of laughing at me, for my (educational) psychology class we were assigned into groups that we would be working with throughout the semester, and at the end of the semester our groups will teach a 40 minute lesson to the class. So we were talking and we came to the conclusion that EVERYONE in our group LOVES Harry Potter! Can you even believe that? And when I say love, I mean we all have posters on our walls and underline our books and highlight and are just general Potter nerds. The most interesting is this group is made of four girls (including myself) and one very athletic boy, on the hockey team. And he loves Harry Potter. They all love Harry Potter as much as I do.

So as horrible and annoying and terrible as school is, and believe me- it is, I will always look back at our Harry Potter discussions and smile because I’m not alone in my nerdiness. AND IT’S WONDERFUL.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

