A Post Secret Inspired Project

For those of you who are new to my site (perhaps this is your first visit) I say WELCOME! About a year ago (so, so very long ago) I spent three or so months living in beautiful, rainy England. While there I did many amazing things (read all about them here) and I also took a few classes. My favorite was most definitely my photography class. For this class we used old 35mm cameras, you know the kind where you load film (for those of you unfamiliar with film it is this shiny little papery type thing that magically captures the images you take) and you have to manually focus by matching the aperture with the lighting and whatnot… really complicated stuff to be quite honest. WELL, in my class we learned how to do such a thing and then we learned how to develop our film, then make a contact sheet, then select individual frames then enlarge them into photos, them mount them onto poster board. This stuff is NOT easy Internet. I would spend anywhere from 20-40 minutes enlarging ONE picture. I can’t tell you how many nights I spent at least four or so hours in the dark room only to emerge tired, sleepy, and half way finished. But boy oh boy was it fun.

For our final instead of taking some sort of silly exam testing us on distances and apertures and things of the technical nature, we had to come up with a creative project. We were tested on developing the film, making a contact sheet, choosing the best pictures, enlarging them, and finally mounting them. My final project was one of the most fun things I have ever done in my academic life. I chose to look to Post Secret for inspiration. For anyone who might not know about this amazing site, I will tell you a bit about it. Frank Warren runs this site where people send in anonymous postcards with secrets on them. Some are funny, some are sweet, some are sad, some are scandalous, but they are all (that we know of) true. I really encourage you to check out the website if you have not. You can find it here!

So what I did was take five of my friends and have them write out a true secret and then we shot almost a role of film for each. I’m posting about this now, more than a year later, because I was home earlier today looking for my photography notes because I’m planning a photo shoot with a friend soon, and I found all my old photography things. I should also mention this was a black and white photography course, so all of these are B&W.  So I scanned them into my computer and thought I would share them with you! Please keep in mind these have been transported across the pond and have been moved and bothered, so there are a few scratches (from people who don’t really know how to handle photographs) and of course I did my best to get all the dust off but dust is… everywhere.

Step One! Contact sheets! Here are the three contact sheets from the shoot.

contact 1

contact 2

contact 3

Step 2! Choosing the right picture! Here are the five individual pictures I chose.

Carolina contact

Jenna Contact

krista contact

whitney contact

Brittany contact

Step Three! Final picture! Well, you can’t really tell but the final pictures were mounted on a piece of thick poster board. Here are how they turned out!

Caroline

Jenna

Krista

Whitney

Brittany

So there you have it! Let me know what you think; I had a lot of fun shooting the girls (with my camera, mind you) and I got an A on the project (from a professor who rarely hands out A’s because “there is always room for improvement”).

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Post Secret Inspired Project

  1. Saraaaa

    I think this is one of the coolest things you have done btw.

Leave a Reply

