I’m sleeping with Darth Vader! It’s the scandal of the year.

“You spend your whole life stuck in the labyrinth, thinking about how you’ll escape it one day, and how awesome it will be, and imagining that future keeps you going, but you never do it. You just use the future to escape the present.” – John Green, Looking for Alaska

So it is that time of the year again. I tend to do something one year and love it so much I find myself doing it the next year and the next year. The only problem is that list continues to increase while my free time continues to decrease. It is that time of the year to reread Looking for Alaska. If you have never read this book before, let me begin by saying you have no idea what you are missing. This book seriously changed me and my outlook on life. I am really not exaggerating when I say I look at people, situations, anything and everything differently because of the message of this book. In fact, it touched me so much that I find myself writing differently. John Green is an amazing writer and the imagery he creates has the power to make you weep from laughter and ten words later make you weep because WOAH! you didn’t see that event coming and you are quite sad. Don’t let the fact that this book is listed under “young adult” because that is not the case. I really, really hope I teach at a school where they allow me to teach this book to my students. It is very powerful, eloquent and very beautiful.

It is also that time of the year to make my way through the Lord of the Rings movies. These movies hold a very special place in my heart because it brought together all of my cousins and siblings and for once there was no screaming or yelling or fighting of any kind. We talked endlessly about the plot, who got to be who (I’m Sam which gives me reason to randomly shout “SHAAAARE THE LOAD!”) and we even dressed up for fun. (We had cloaks. Jealous? You should be.) Now, I am a bit apprehensive to start the movies because I am currently (although very, very slowly) making my way through the books. I feel as though I need to read these before going to New Zealand, because we will be going on a LOTR tour and even though the movies were filmed there and I’ve already been to the pub in which it was partly written/discussed, I still think I should read them. They are classics for a reason.

And of course it is time to go to NYC (although, when is it not?). So listen up mother! I want to go to central park and have tea at the Plaza just like Eloise. Oh how I love Eloise.

In other news, I get my sleep mask next Friday. (If you have no idea what I’m talking about, check out the thrilling story here.) I haven’t decided if I am going to post a picture of it on here when I get it; depends on the level of embarrassment I feel at the time. I do know that I have named it Darth Vader because, well, when wearing it I feel like ol’ Darth. Plus I can now (or at least next Friday) say “I’m totally sleeping with Darth Vader.” Can you imagine! Me! Sleeping with Darth Vader! The scandal! The shock! The horror! I know, I know. It is going to be totally awesome. Also if people want to come to visit it, and I’ve already had a few friends say they wanted to, the only requirement is that they bring a sticker to decorate it with. (This reminds me of the rule JD and Turk have… that you have to bring your own roll of toilet paper if you stay with them… no? anyone? just me?)

And lastly, I will answer this question that I was asked today by me lovely sister.

“If you were a boy for one day, what would you do?”

Hmmm, a very interesting question. I think whatever I did I would do it shirtless, because it is really unfair boys don’t have to wear shirts all the time. Then I think I would go to an old barber (like the kind with the red and white swirly thing in the front) because boys can just do that. They don’t have to entrust a random person with their precious hair and expect them to cut it EXACTLY like the picture looks. I would also burp a lot, because boys don’t (usually) get nasty looks when they burp. I would go to a sporting event and actually know what is going on (I’m assuming if there is magic for me to become a boy, there is magic for me to become a boy with a decent knowledge of sports). Oh then I would go smell a bunch of cologne because it all (mostly) smells so so good. And that would be my (somewhat boring) day as a boy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

