Bouquets of sharpened pencils.

In my grammar class my professor asked us to bring in a book we really liked for some little project we were going to be completing. I decided to bring in the book Naked by David Sedaris, because that book is the epitome of awesome. I swear, even if you don’t like reading you will like this book; each “chapter” is a short story about an event that took place in the author’s life. These events range from speech therapy when he was in elementary school to hitch hiking his way from Ohio to California and let me tell you, he met some INTERESTING (read: insane) people along the way.

Anyway, the point of the exercise was writing a descriptive poem. We were asked to pick two short passages from the book and create a poem using words and ideas from the quotes we chose. I liked this exercise so much I can’t wait to use it in my future classroom. And now I will share with you what I wrote because you knew it was coming.

Passage 1: “Driving pas the iron gates and up the winding driveway on my first day of work, my mother offered me a series of last-minute alternatives.” (pg. 74)

Passage 2: “The road to Hobbe’s orchard wound past a dairy farm where several dozen speckled cows passed the time grinding wet grass with their blunt teeth.” (pg. 163)

My poem:

On my first day of work

Driving past the iron gates,

My mother pleaded for me to turn around.

The winding driveway stretched on for miles,

The dairy farm was up ahead;

My mother offered better opportunities as I passed the speckled cows,

Mouths chewing,

Teeth grinding

On the dew covered grass.

The road to Hobbe’s orchard was a long one,

But I had made my decision.

I got out of the car and closed the door

On my mother’s cries.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Bouquets of sharpened pencils.

  1. Genevieve

    WOW!! That was totally awesome!! I don’t think I could ever do that!

Leave a Reply

