CRUISE VACATION: DAY SIX

And now, the moment you have all been waiting for- the EXCITING continuation of Lauren’s travels!

Let’s see… where did we leave off? I believe it was dinnertime. Our waiters did a hilarious dance, which I just so happened to catch on tape for YOU Internet. I do it all for YOU. After we finished dinner we headed back to the room for some sleeps. You see, we had to get up bright and early the next day for Calica (Cal-eek-a), where we would be seeing the Mayan Ruins.

Fast forward to 6:30 when I woke up. Now, usually I skip on the details of getting up and just go straight into the day. But something special happened this morning. Something special as in MY 21st BIRTHDAY! So I think that every detail of today is important. Okay, not really, but you could at least humor me. Once we were ready to go, my entire family went to the docks and met up with our tour guide, who was one of the sweetest people ever. We then took an hour or so long bus ride to the Mayan Ruins, stopping along the way to see how they made many of the souvenirs sold to tourists.

Once we got to the ruins we walked around with our tour guide who told us many interesting facts about the place, a lot of which I have sadly forgotten, although some of the more interesting ones have stayed with me. For instance, the Mayans were some of the most brilliant people, but knowledge is power so the elders kept it to themselves instead of educating the people (and more importantly the kids). They didn’t share this knowledge because they wanted the power all to themselves. Another interesting fact (although somewhat grotesque) is how they did human sacrifices. They would take a man (usually a prisoner of war) and lay him on a rock. Then two people would hold his arms above his head while two other people held his feet. They would pull the man, stretching him, and someone would make an incision under his ribcage. They would then PULL OUT HIS BEATING HEART, thus ending the sacrifice. These people and their sacrifices…

After the tour ended I was just absolutely sick to my stomach. I think it is from the poison of TEN THOUSAND mosquitoes bites on my back and legs. Horseback riding comes at a price people. (My mum said it looks as though I have the measles! My sister also has thousands up her legs. Insanity.) So anywho, I was sick and there were two options. Option #1- go shop in the boiling heat or option #2- go swim in the beach. We had about an hour to kill before our bus headed back to the cruise ship so I went with option #2 and swam the heck out of that beach. I haven’t been to the beach in ages and now I remember why. I detest, I mean absolutely DETEST salt water and I got a good eye, nose, and mouthful of the stuff. After swimming for about thirty or so minutes I went back to the shops to get a present for some friends.

Before I knew it the bus was here and it was time to go back to the beloved cruise ship. I then came back and stopped at one more store where I saw really beautiful earrings. I asked how much they were and the man said 400 pesos, or 40 USD, so I politely declined. He then tried to offer then to me for 30 dollars but since I was shopping for a friend I said no. Well he didn’t like that AT ALL and got kind of mean. The bad thing was I picked up a shot glass to get my friend and I think he bumped up the price of the shot glass because I didn’t get the earrings. I mean, I love my friends but if I am going to spend 30 dollars on earrings, those will be on MY ears.

So I got back to the ship, showered, changed and then it was MOVIE time! Now they don’t have a movie theater on this ship (I know, the horrors) so I am forced to catch a movie on the T.V. in my room. The thing is, they show movies every three hours, instead of continuously. How absurd is that? I had about ten minutes until the next movie came on and I was desperately trying to find things in the room to do until then. I fixed my hair, picked out my clothes for dinner, repacked my suitcase, loaded my pictures up and then FINALLY the movie came on. Now I just found out there are three movie channels. Before I had only known about the one, and all it played was Return to Witch Mountain (or whatever it is called… the one with The Rock) and I have to admit it was pretty good! But I had seen it twice (well I missed the first ten or so minutes each time) and I wanted something different. So the movie started and I thought to myself, “Self, this cannot be what I think it is. No. No. NO NO NO NO NO!!!” For it was none other than Paul Blart: Mall Cop. A movie so awful that I cannot put into words how much I dislike it.  So I changed it and happily watched Slumdog Millionaire. And may I just say again that those are the most adorable children IN THE WORLD!

After the movie it was time to PARTY. Not really because there wasn’t much going on, so my mum and I played cards with my aunt, cousins, and grandmother. At first we played SPADES, which was fun because I have never played that before. Then we played “Items from the purse” which was really spoons, but seeing as we had no spoons we played with items from our purses. Then we played Tongues, which sounds weird but it is just like spoons. However, instead of grabbing spoons you stick out your tongue. This is a lot harder than spoons because you have to look at your cards, pass them, AND look at peoples faces to see if they have their tongues out. After those thrilling games we got ready for dinner where the waiters sang to me and we had wine! Woot! For dinner I had lamb, which was really good, but at this point I think the majority of our family was sick from the EXTREME rocking of the boat. On the Disney cruise I went on a couple of years back I never felt the ship rock, except maybe once. I have felt it A LOT this time, which is really weird. But back to the important things like how our waiters danced for us YET AGAIN! I haz the video for you, because once again I say, I do it ALL for YOU.

And after dinner my brother and I went and played BINGO to which we lost. Sad, I know. Then it was time for the TALENT SHOW! How exciting! I was really hoping for some interesting acts, but sadly they were all singing. One old guy named SKEET played the piano and sang, and he my least favorite. He turned a three-minute song into a ninety-minute song. I thought I was going to meet my maker by the time he was done. Other than him, the rest of the people did great! The show was good but by then we were so exhausted it was time for sleeps. I fell asleep in no time, which is rare. And this is where today’s travels end.

Wow, that was an amazing story! And a happy Birthday to you Lauren! Since she decided to go ahead and fill you in on her entire day leaving you NO cliffhanger for tomorrow, I leave you with no witty comment other than just come on back and read how her LAST day at sea went! I promise you, you will NOT want to miss this.

The long walk to the ruins. My brother was the only person next to me the enitre way.

The long walk to the ruins. My brother was the only person next to me the enitre way.

Smile!!

Smile!!

My cousin making faces!

My cousin making faces!

My baby brother!

My baby brother!

My brother the giant!

My brother the giant!

A small part of the Ruins

A small part of the Ruins

The place where they would cut out the prisioner's heart!

The place where they would cut out the prisioner's heart!

More of the Ruins

More of the Ruins

The amazing beach where we went swimming!

The amazing beach where we went swimming!

Decorations!

Decorations!

Decorations all on the ceiling!

Decorations all on the ceiling!

YUMMMM! :D

YUMMMM! 😀

You can read all about my vacation by clicking HERE!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “CRUISE VACATION: DAY SIX

  1. Have you seen Apocalypto?

  2. improbablefiction

    I have not.

  3. If you ever feel like witnessing the beating heart rip-out, that should be your go-to source.

  4. improbablefiction

    Ew. I think I will pass on that one.

  5. Tammy T

    WOW! I guess you forgot to tell the world how wonderfully the room was decorated when you got back from the ruins!!

Leave a Reply

