CRUISE VACATION: DAY FIVE

We now return you to your regularly scheduled program.

I think the best part of last night is what happened on the way to dinner. My mother and I were going to the upper parts of the deck to take pictures of this giant chess set they had set up (and yes, the Harry Potter references are constantly being made). So we get on the elevator (and may I just say that I don’t know what it is about elevators but people are SO friendly on them!) anyway, we ran into this little kid who looked like he had been severely sunburned. My mum said “Oh, looks like you got some sun” when he replied, “Oh, I was in the hot tub.” Then this conversation happened:

Mum: “Oh the hot tub!”

Boy: “Yeah. I had to get out. These tan girls were going to kill me.”

Mum: “Tan girls were going to kill you?”

Boy: “Yeah.”

*A father and his daughter then get on the elevator*

Mum: (noticing the fake tattoo across his back) “So you got a tattoo, huh?”

Boy: “Sure did.”

Mum: “You are pretty tough. How old are you, 35?”

Boy: “Ten.”

Little girl: “You are short for a ten year old.”

Boy: “Everyone always says that.”

Little girl: “I am ten and I am taller than you!”

Mum: “That’s okay, when my son was your age he was the shortest one. When he turned 16 he shot up to 6’ 1” and hasn’t stopped!”

Boy: “Then I am going to be taller than you when I am 16 years old!”

Little girl: “No, you’ll see. When I am 16 I’ll STILL be taller than you! You will come up to my forehead.”

At this point we had all gotten off of the elevator on the same floor where they boy and girl shouted back and forth all the way down the hall (one going to the left, one to the right). I think that conversation has been the highlight of my trip; that boy was so adorable!

Dinner was great last night! We celebrated my grandparent’s 50th wedding anniversary and surprised them with a cake and cards. Then our waiters sang to us, which was absolutely hysterical.  A few of our guys didn’t know they words so they had cheat sheets that they would reference. It was so cute! Then they grabbed people from the table and made them dance. At one point they had gotten my aunt up there and thought the man sitting next to her was her husband, so they asked him to come dance with her. Except that man was my father (her brother) and he politely said, “No way! That is my sister! There are laws against that sort of thing…” to which we all pointed out that they are from Alabama so technically they are exempt from those laws. HA!

After dinner we went to the show they were having. It was very interesting-mainly singing and dancing to songs from the 50’s and 60’s with a few random 90’s country songs. There was a LOT of skin from both the men and the woman and all I am saying is if you are going to be dancing with a big poofy skirt and you are going to be lifted in the air with your legs spread for the whole world to see your business, you may want to think twice before wearing a thong. (Just a word of caution.)

After the show we went to sleeps so we could wake up nice and early for our daily excursion in Cozumel, Mexico! My sister and I went horseback riding, which was quite the adventure. Our tour guide Clinton was hilarious and so much fun. The actual horse experience was very interesting. When we first got there they tried to put me on this GIANT horse. I mean absolutely humongous. I could already tell that there was NO WAY I was going to be able to get on the horse and be able to reach the stirrup things, because just standing on the ground next to it, the horse was taller than me. Well they put me up there anyways. I couldn’t even swing my leg over! After I got up there they decided that it was too tall for me and had me get back down. Then they reached over and got the one horse that everyone wanted! All the horses were brown except for mine, which was brown and white and named Café Con Leche.

Sadly, having the horse everyone wants comes at a small price. This horse was bound and determined to eat EVERY SINGLE plant known to man. I mean she was having some serious hunger issues! Even when we got back to the ranch and had her tied to the fence, she started chewing on the wooden fence!!! Can you believe that? Girlfriend needed a diet not more food.

Along the trail we encountered ancient, original, authentic temples and caves and wells belonging to the Mayans (I think? The tour guide said it a million times but alas, I cannot remember). There we went to the goddess of love’s cave, which also served as a sacrificial ground and a hiding spot from intruders. The most interesting thing about this was why they sacrificed the people. Supposedly they would play some sort of game. The WINNING team’s captain would then be DECAPITATED because it is supposedly a high honor not only to win, but also to be decapitated for doing so. Our tour guide then said that is why Mexico has yet to win the Olympics. HA.

After we came back to the ship there was a chance to shop around the pier. I got a few gifts for some friends and a really cool black and pink blanket for me! Then I went back to the room to get ready for dinner, which is where I must leave you for today!

Once again Lauren finds herself not knowing what is to come after dinner tonight. Another show? Some BINGO? Only you will know… when you come back tomorrow of course!

The chess set!

The chess set!

My favorite picture!

My favorite picture!

Our waiters posing for my picture

Our waiters posing for my picture

My aunt dancing with the waiter

My aunt dancing with the waiter

My father raising a hand in protest.

My father raising a hand in protest.

The waiter doing a magic trick!

The waiter doing a magic trick!

Kodak moment!

Kodak moment!

The horseback riding ranch!

The horseback riding ranch!

My sister's horse, Capitan!

My sister's horse, Capitan!

The cave of the goddess of love

The cave of the goddess of love

A beach we passed on the way back to the ship

A beach we passed on the way back to the ship

This view was so beautiful!

This view was so beautiful!

A view of Cozumel from the ship

A view of Cozumel from the ship

Read all about day one, day two, day three, and day four!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

