Book Covers I Find Intriguing

I have not read all of the following books, but while looking around on this awesome website I couldn’t help but take notice of particular book covers that really caught my eye. A lot of times I will get a book to read based solely on the cover (having no idea what it is about -besides what is on the back) and I often find myself going towards the unusual looking ones which turn out to be the most interesting (to say the least). Here are a few I would pick up:

1. Wet Apples, White Blood

Wet Apples White Blood

Book by Naomi Guttman

Cover by David Drummond

Based on the title alone, I am guessing this is supposed to be white blood dripping down an apple, which reminds me of rain dripping down the window, which makes me happy because I love thunderstorms.

2. Imprint

Imprint

Book by Daniel Eatock

Cover by Daniel Eatock

Who doesn’t love a good thumbprint made up of tiny text?

3. The Bug

The Bug

Book by Ellen Ullman

Cover by Jamie Keenan

Is the bug my computer? Is the bug my keyboard? Is the bug some sort of symbol? Only Ellen Ullman knows.

4. Sex, Drugs, And Cocoa Puffs

Sex Drugs And Cocoa Puffs

Book by Chuck Klosterman

Cover by Paul Sahre

Every time I hear “sex” and “drugs” I immediately think of a popular breakfast cereal targeted for children. Oh, is that just me?

5. Trauma

Trauma

Book by Patrick Mcgrath

Cover by Peter Mendelsund

Red background= blood= trauma= accurate book title.

6. Devil in the Details *

Devil in the Details

Book by Jennifer Traig

Cover by Kelly Blair

This cover is just mesmerizing.

7. When You Are Engulfed In Flames **

When You Are Engulfed In Flames

Book by David Sedaris

Cover by Chip Kidd

I can’t express how much I love David Sedaris.

8. No One Belongs Here More Than You ***

No One Belongs Here More Than You

Book by Miranda July

Cover by John Fulbrook III

Such a simple design. Sometimes I just like clean and simple books.

9. The Lie That Tells A Truth

The Lie That Tells A Truth

Book by John Dufresne

Cover by John Fulbrook III

This book cover is wicked awesome because how many times have I sat in class and rearranged my sentences? The answer is a lot.

10. Jane Eyre ****

Jane Eyre

Book by Charlotte Bronte

Cover by Megan Wilson

I don’t know why, but I have always loved a good silhouette.

11. American Nerd *****

American Nerd

Book by Benjamin Nugent

Cover by Jason J. Heuer

I wear glasses! I am American! I have also been called a nerd a lot, so this book appeals to me on many levels.

.

*Once when I was bored on a SEVEN hour flight from France to America, a friend let me borrow this. I got almost half way through, and it was very entertaining. I really recommend it. (Also, I just realized that may sound like it took me seven hours to read half a book. It didn’t. I borrowed it towards the end of the flight. Just clearing that up…)

**I’ve read two other books by David Sedaris and I must say he is one of the most entertaining authors out there. I really can’t say anything bad about him. If asked, I would tell you to put his books on the top of your list. His books are comprised of short stories (ranging from as little as four to fourteen or more pages) about his life. They are sometimes crude, sometimes sad, always hilarious at some point and always, always, always extremely entertaining. Expect a full review of this guy soon.

***I knew about this book from previously stumbling upon the author’s lovely blog. When you get a chance you should check it out.

****I know this was supposed to be primarily about books I have never heard before, and I know Jane Eyre is a classic, but I haven’t read it yet so I am counting it. Also, even if I had read it, this has got to be one of my favorite covers for some unkown reason. I really, really like it.

*****Nerds Rule.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Covers I Find Intriguing

  1. I always judge a book by it’s cover haha! My sister loves Klosterman…that book is her Bible.

    My best “random-purchase-based-on-cover” was Jacquelyn Mitchard’s The Breakdown Lane. Love love love it!!

    (And love love love you!) 🙂

  2. Genevieve

    Basically, 99.5% of the books I read have a lady in period clothing set in the 1800’s, on a farm, hanging clothes. I love Christian fiction! Esp. set in this time period. I always go by the cover first! I don’t know why. These look really cool!

Leave a Reply

