BEDA 27: Rainy Days and Mondays Always Get Me Down…

Internet, I wish I could accurately describe to you how hot it is. I am sure you know this; you have probably stepped outside within the past 24 hours and felt the heat beating down on you. And maybe you like this thing called “summer.” Maybe you like it well enough to sometimes go outside when there is a nice breeze, no school, and fun times to be had by all. Maybe you spend all day, everyday outside soaking up those rays. I do not. Having lived in Florida I have come to loath, hate and detest heat of any kind. It just reminds me of walking to class, sweating, feeling gross because Florida heat traps you. You only go outside because you are transferring yourself from one air conditioned place to another air conditioned place. And soon you learn to take those air conditioned places for granted.

Living in England I did not have an air conditioned room. I had a heater RIGHT by my bed. And when I say RIGHT by my bed I mean that my bed was pushed as far as it could be against this heater because our room was the size of a PRISON CELL. So I thought that I would die of the heat. Luckily it never got so unbearably hot that I felt as though I was melting. I kept my window open and the wind did a good job at cooling me down. Plus it was getting closer to winter, so it was obviously getting cooler outside and that darling little heater did a good job at keeping me nice and toasty warm.

But here in Delaware that is not the case. It is now summer time which means the heat has come to torture me. And once again my dorm room has no air conditioning. Heat, yes. The heat just finally turned off in our building. But there is no air to replace this heat. So we open our windows. No breeze. AT ALL. We turn on our fans. This serves as a momentary escape from the wicked heat, for not long after you turn on your fan you are basically helping the hot air to circulate around the room.

So I decided that I would get an iced coffee today because 1) I am obsessed with them which mean that 2) I had an excuse to get one as 3) I was sweating like a whore in church. Well apparently, EVERYONE else had the same idea as me. Once I got it, I kid you not, I had it completely GONE in about 25 minutes. And it was a pretty big cup.

So I will most likely repeat the iced coffee process tomorrow because it did a nice job at keeping me relatively cool during French class. Here is hoping that it will cool off enough tonight for me and my roommate to be able to fall asleep.

Oh and Hamlet has lived to see another day. And for those of you who keep informing me his tank is dirty, I might add he has lived to see another day in a shiny, clean tank.

Have a happy April everyone! See you tomorrow.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “BEDA 27: Rainy Days and Mondays Always Get Me Down…

  1. I agree. It is entirely way too hot. There is a reason I moved away from Florida. And a reason why I intend to one day live in New England. Or Oregon. Or Seattle. Or upper Cali. Either way somewhere where summers are nice 70-80 degrees with nice 50-60 nights.

  2. Point the fan towards the window instead of at yourself so it’ll blow the hot air out. That’s how refrigerators work.

  3. improbablefiction

    But that doesn’t work.

    Actually I don’t know if that works or not, because I can not take the fan off of me long enough to test this theory. If I take the fan off of me, I WILL MELT.

Leave a Reply

