BEDA 21: Just Play it Cool Boy, Real Cool…

Today I just randomly started humming the Star Spangled Banner. Kind of weird.

Today’s topic of conversation comes from my lovely BEDA buddy Ayan. She asks, “What would you do if you found out your friend was a murderer?” (Click here to read her post about the Craigslist killer.)

This is a very good question because I have absolutely no idea what I would do. I mean initially I would most likely FREAK OUT. But I really think I would begin to pester them with questions. Who have they killed? Why did they kill them? How did they kill them? Are they afraid for their lives? Do they think they will get caught? Why haven’t they killed me yet? And things like that.

I would like to say I would tell the cops, but I honestly don’t know. I do know that I would probably not be able to trust anyone for a very, very long time. I think I am having trouble figuring out what I would do because I am trying to imagine two of my really close friends as killers, and the thought just sort of makes me chuckle. They are really sweet girls and I can’t imagine them actually killing people. But then again, sometimes when you hear about killers in the news and stuff they just sort of snap and go on killing sprees. Who knows what kind of issues they are dealing with behind closed doors, if they are suffering from depression, or if they are mentally insane.

I think that is why it is important to share your feelings and problems out loud. If you are feeling depressed or hopeless that doesn’t mean you are a bad person. Talk to someone. If you can’t open up to your family and/or friends about it, find a therapist and talk to them. It doesn’t do well to bottle up emotions and keep them inside. When this happens those feelings can manifest into much stronger, deeper emotions that can lead you to cause physical and mental harm not only on yourself, but on others as well.

Have a happy April everyone! See you tomorrow.

Hamlet update: He loves food time. He is also staring at me right now. I think he knows I am talking about him.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “BEDA 21: Just Play it Cool Boy, Real Cool…

  1. I agree with you, I would not know what to do! I thought about it actually with other crimes and my friends are really indifferent if there friends commit petty crimes, but for me it was really hard to trust people even if they were to steal candy from 7-11. So I think I would definitely tell the police, also I’m super paranoid and I would think that they would eventually kill me. I really do think things like that, so I would try to cut off ties as quickly as possible, even if it were my best friend. It would be hard, but I just couldn’t deal with it. Plus, I wouldn’t want to get implicated myself, civic duty! lol

  2. Rest assured, Lauren, I would never kill you.

    Unless you snitched.

  3. Father

    So am I to understand that you’re busting your parents for lying but you might possibly cover for a friend? Man, talk about a double standard here…….Apparently another road trip to the BHMC might do you some good. And another dose of AWANA might get your moral compass back on the right line.

  4. improbablefiction

    Father, If you ever sent me back to AWANA I wouldn’t have to worry about covering for a friend, because I would be killing you all by myself.

Leave a Reply

