Living in my own little dream world…

I often read this amazing, entertaining, and hilarious website which consists of 11 point lists; one particular list was fictional places the writer would want to visit. I have often found myself wishing I could go to imaginary places; sometimes even move to one. So here is my list, in no particular order.

1. Stars Hollow (T.V. show: Gilmore Girls)

Luke's Diner
Where you lead, I will follow. Especially if you lead me to Stars Hollow, home of the ever amazing Gilmore Girls. This town had it all. Weddings, funerals, ‘Founder’s Day Celebration’, insane town meetings, dance marathons, film festivals, and of course tons of reenactments. It is a place where everyone owns a car but walks everywhere. In just a few minutes you could be at Luke’s Diner (where he would most likely be fighting with Lorelai), Taylor Dosey’s market (where he would be ordering Kirk around for another stupid scheme), Miss Patty’s dance studio (where she would be hitting on some young guy half her age), the Stars Hollow Inn (with Sookie and Jackson being neurotic in the kitchen), or Gypsy’s auto garage (where she would be hassling her latest customer). I really, really wish I could live in this fun, if not insane, town.

2. Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory…old-school version (movie: Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory)

Wonka
Oh don’t deny it. You know you have always wanted to visit this magical candy factory, and not just for the completely edible room. The whole entire place was amazing (with the exception of that creepy boat ride). From the oompa-loompas to Wonka’s office, which I always thought was wicked awesome. And that room with the fizzy lifting stuff. Oh, and the lickable wall paper, which I realize may not be the most sanitary thing in the world, but darn it all- it was cool.

3.  The Shire (movie: The Lord of the Rings Triliogy)

The Shire
From the first viewing of Lord of the Rings I wanted to live in the shire. I would even endure the hairy hobbit feet. This land is purely magical, where characters are set in thier ways, and don’t desire much change. And that is perfect for me, seeing as I hate change. Hobbits know how to eat, how to drink, how to celebrate, and how to just be content with life. Sign me up.

4. Rivendell (movie: The Lord of the Rings Triliogy)

Rivendell
Okay, so I don’t know which I would rather live in. The Shire or Rivendell. I think my sister should live in the Shire so I could visit her. That way I get the best of both worlds. Rivendell is quite possibly one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen in a movie. And I could totally rock the elf ears, especially if they magically made me look like Liv Tyler and I got me a mortal like Viggo. I seriously don’t know how anyone would NOT want to live here. Every time I watch the movies I watch these scenes a few times, as if somehow repeated viewings let me believe for one second that places like this exist. If only.

5. Neverland (movie: Finding Neverland… Not the place associated with Michael Jackson.)

Neverland
Whenever I watch Disney’s Peter Pan I love Neverland, but it is just not a place I could see myself living in forever. And while I love Hook, I wouldn’t consider it “fun” to never grow up there. But throw me into the magical Neverland from Finding Neverland, and I am completely set. This is the would Neverland I always pictured. The colors are amazing, and the final scene (you know the one- when Sylvia (Kate Winslet) walks off into the magial-ness that Jim (Johnny Depp) created for her) I cry every single time, not only because it is utterly depressing, but because this is straight out of her imagination. It is something Jim created for her, specifically for her, and it is absolutely beautiful.

6. Rydell High (movie: Grease)

Rydell High
I would be lying if I said I was not totally depressed that on my last day of high school there was no throwing of papers, no running out side, no carnival waiting for me, and no singing. Why couldn’t there be any singing? Look how much fun they are having in that picture!! Sigh. My love of musicals will always fill my head with nonsense, and Grease is no exception. I would love to go to school and Rydell High. They sang during lunch, sang during class, had huge dances and raced cars. So daring! So exciting! What more could you ask for? Dare I submit nothing. I mean, you could be a PINK LADY for crying out loud. And date a T-BIRD. I don’t think there is anything left in life to look forward to. You pretty much had it all.

7. Sacred Heart (T.V. show: Scrubs)

Scrubs
Oh what I wouldn’t give to be a patient at this hospital. That would most likely be the highlight of my life..you know, if the whole end of the year carnival thing at Rydell didn’t work out.

8. Jumanji (movie: Jumanji)

Jumanji
Yes, you read that correctly. I want to visit (definitely not live, though I think I would have to be there until someone rolled me out…which would definitely suck) the life in the board game while it is floating in the middle of the ocean, or buried in a wall, waiting for its next victim player. I know at one point older Peter (Robin Williams) says he has seen horrible things, blah, blah, blah, I don’t remember the exact quote, but ever since the first viewing of this movie I have always wanted to see what he sees. To experience what he did when he was -literally- sucked into the game, because he obviously lived, so it can’t all be that bad. Right?

9. Aurora’s Woodland Cottage (movie: Sleeping Beauty)

Sleeping Beauty Glenn
If you know me at all, you know how obsessed I am with Sleeping Beauty. If you don’t know me, or didn’t know this about me, just trust me. I am o-b-s-e-s-s-e-d. So naturally I wanted to live in the cottage when I was younger. But honestly? Do they ever really disclose a name for this particular town? When Aurora is running away from Phillip he asks her when he will see her again. After a disappointing “never” he decides he will not accept that answer and replies with a desperate “never?” to which she shouts back, “this evening, in the cottage, in the Glenn.” (Okay, so she is a tad easy going from never to that very night. But that is the only male attention she has gotten -besides in her dreams- for 16 freaking years, so the girl has to work it fast.) So does that make “the Glenn” where she lives? Or is “the Glenn” the new way of saying “the Forrest?” For goodness sakes, someone find out what a Glenn is and let me know.

Anywho, I would totally want to live in that little cottage. For the mere five or so seconds her bedroom is on screen, I could seriously see myself living there. I’m just saying, that is one nice bedroom for a small cottage with straw roof located in some sort of “glenn.”You are surrounded by trees so you wouldn’t really have to worry about privacy. Except for birds. If I ever plan on doing any magical spells, remind me to not only block up all the windows, nooks, and crannys, but also that darn chimney! (And also remind me the dress should stay blue.)

10. That lake where Ariel and Eric go to and everyone sings “Kiss the Girl” (movie: The Little Mermaid)

Kiss the girl
Okay, the only reason I really included this was because you have to admit that scene is quite amazing. And it would have worked too… you know, if she had a voice and wasn’t being followed and sabatoged by that pesky old sea witch hag.

I’m sure I would include other places, but I can’t be bothered tonight to think of any more tonight. Where would you go to if you could visit any fictional place? (And I mean purely fictional, not a movie that takes place in NYC or anything like that.) Leave it in the comments!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Living in my own little dream world…

  1. I am totally stealing this for SuperBull after I get back from work.

  2. Pingback: Ten Fictional Places I Would Like to Visit

  3. You may have started a wave.

  4. improbablefiction

    Très Bien!!

  5. Pingback: Fun Friday–Fictional Places I’d Like to Visit « KayeDacus.com

  6. Genevieve

    WOW!!! I loved this! I think the only place I wouldn’t go is the scrubs place! I think I would replace it with…..ummm…lets see……uhhhhh…..I think it would be a real place but set in a fictional time. You guessed it… GREEN GABLES

  7. Genevieve

    O.K. I have had a little time to think about it and I don’t think I could pick Green Gables because it really exists..(Prince Edward Island..Canada) so I think I would pick Hogwarts. That is a really cool place. Plus all the owls are just a plus!

  8. improbablefiction

    I forgot one of the most awesome places I would want to visit… The Shop Around the Corner!! Ah! How could I forget that?

  9. Erin

    I’ve been called “Rory Gilmore” on numerous occasions…

    And yes–the Shop Around the Corner!!! 😀

  10. Ells

    I just found your post right now because I’m searching the net to try and find some type of village in the real world that would be similar to Rivundell…LOL

    Check this out http://directory.ic.org/21430/The_Shire

  11. Aurora

    I’m a dreamer myself and indeed, it is a hard time for dreamers!
    I think I would replace the Scrubs-place into the imaginary (drawn) world of Mary Poppins!
    You know, the one with the talking pinguins!
    Or with Laura and Mary, just for a day or so! Little house On the Prairie is still one of my favorite series (although it’s really old fashioned!)

Leave a Reply

