Improbablefiction: Music Edition

As I recently stated, there is not much for me to write about. I mean, honestly- I do boring chores around the house (dishes, cleaning, vacuuming- which I actually love to do so I don’t consider a chore-), I have logged in almost all of the books I own (which happens to be over 300) to my librarything account and one day in the very, very near future I will do the same with my DVD’s.

I’ve posted about television.

I have posted about movies (okay technically I only posted about one movie, Green Street Hooligans, but it is an utterly fantastic movie so whatever).

And I have posted about books. Naturally the next thing to post about would be music.

Now I should start by saying these are songs/cd’s that I enjoy listening to and there is no particular order or anything. I am just updating my itunes, which means I am taking all these cd’s I have, my sister has, and my mother has, and putting them onto my itunes.

Alive with the Glory of Love- Say Anything

I have my friend Wesley to thank for this little tune. We were heading back to the hotel trying to make curfew in France, which required a lengthy metro ride. Along the way, since we were just sitting there, we rocked out to tunes on his ipod, which is when I heard this song for the first time. I must say, I fell in love with it.

Rich Girl- Hall and Oats

Oh the 70’s. Oh Hall and Oats. Thank you for this song. And thanks to my mother and aunt for introducing it to me. In my family we often joke and refer to my aunt as a “rich bitch” (yes, she knows about this and refers to herself as one too) and it somewhat came from this song. Oh how I love to sing this.

Brandy Alexander- Feist

This is my sister’s favorite song by Feist and it is clear why. It is so simple and such a beautiful song. And I absolutely love the music video.

Say Goodbye- Chris Brown

Please don’t ask me why this is on my list. I mean, I usually don’t listen to Chris Brown or any of that type of music, but this particular song was on a soundtrack I have and it randomly came on one day and I actually kind of like it. Even if the music video is completely ridiculous.

My Father’s Gun- Elton John

This song is from the Elizabethtown soundtrack. I love this movie oh so very much, and the soundtrack is fantastic. The particular scene where this song plays is one of the most touching scenes in the whole movie. As much as I like to make fun of Orlando Bloom, he did a good job.

Red Red Wine- UB40

This has been one of my favorite songs since I was… maybe 13 or 14? Something like that. And when I say one of my favorite songs, I mean top five. Every summer my family would go down to Florida and stay with my grandparents, and my cousins and aunt and uncle would come around the same time. When we were together we always went to a Disney park and water park- Blizzard Beach. Those were some of the best times. Being in Orlando Florida, it never really snowed so the whole concept behind Blizzard Beach is that it snowed a lot, but they played beach music. As we stood in line for one of the rides I heard this song for the first time and immediately fell in love with it. I didn’t know who sang it so my cousin and I were trying to figure it out, when this very nice British man behind us tapped me on the shoulder and said “UB40” and ever since then my cousin and I will randomly shout out “UB40” in this extreme British accent. And side note: the lead singer was not AT ALL what I pictured him to look like.

Ok that was just a mixture of songs chosen completely at random that I am listening to right now. As far as whole CDs go:

Plans- Death Cab for Cutie

This is the cd I play almost every night to fall asleep to. Sometimes I have randomly woken up in the middle of the night and it will be some odd musical interlude and I will know exactly what song it is, and what song is up next. I mean I really, really, really love this cd. And for some reason if it is on shuffle it just freaks me out; I have to have it in order. You should just buy it because it is probably my favorite CD I own.

Garden State Soundtrack

Okay, first- this movie is one of my favorite movies I own, and second- the music is just as good. If you haven’t seen the movie I order you to go watch it and then buy it. And then go buy the soundtrack.

The OC Mix 6

Honestly, all of the OC Mix CDs are pretty awesome, but seeing as I don’t exactly own them all (but believe me I plan to), I’m telling you to go buy the last one first. These are all songs that played in the final season and they are exceptional. Some of my favorites are Hello Sunshine, The Ends Not Near, and Into Dust. There are also some pretty good remakes of classics I like, particularly Float On and Smile Like you Mean It.

So that pretty much wraps up the list. Yes, I left off a lot of songs I am listening to right now, and quite a few CDs you need to buy. Maybe I will do this again. Who knows… I am really bored.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Improbablefiction: Music Edition

  1. Genevieve077

    Wow!! I must say that I am not very impressed!! I mean no Donny And Marie or Barry Manilow!! DANG.. not even the Copacabana? You need to take a serious look at your Itunes!

  2. improbablefiction

    I am actually putting good old Barry on my itunes right now…

  3. Genevieve077

    No, you have to add Donny also or its no good!!!

Leave a Reply

