It was the greatest week and a half of my life…

Apologies Internet for the lack of posting. Now that I am home and school hasn’t started and all of the extended family has left, I don’t have much material for new posts. Fair warning: after typing this post I realized the entire thing is about TV shows, so if you are not interested, stop reading now.

When I am not doing chores around the house I am either reading or watching TV on DVD because lets just face it- shows are so much better that way. I am currently making my way through That 70’s Show and loving every minute of it. Sometimes I watch actual TV and let me just say I am horrified with ABC Family. They have the audacity to renew the abomination that is The Secret Life of the American Teenager for another season but canceled The MiddleMan??? WTF? And before you go all postal, no I did not call American Teenager an abomination because of the plot (teenager gets pregnent, decides on keeping the baby *gasp*… fyi if you are going to watch a show where two teens get preggers and keep the baby, just go watch Reba. I can guarantee you it will be far better.) I referred to said show as an abomination because of the acting and dialogue. Okay so I have never seen an entire episode from start to finish, but the commercials alone are enough to kill me. Now The MiddleMan? THAT was a brilliant show. The dialogue was catchy, the characters zany, the actors qualified enough to make you believe the incredibly outrageous story lines. Yes, you can easily argue there are far better shows on TV right now, and you are right. But there was just something about MiddleMan that made me forget everything else and focus on these people solving crimes, attacking aliens, hosting art shows, and making numerous pop culture references. It was as if they knew it was a ridiculous show and went with it. Pure comedic genius. I can’t wait to buy it on DVD.

In other TV news How I Met Your Mother is by far my favorite show. It has passed House and Chuck and The Office with flying colors. House has gotten away from the brilliance that it once was by adding new doctors that just don’t flow as well as the original doctors (Cameron and Chase) which, by the way, they are totally only getting about five minutes of screen time and that is simply not fair because they are far more entertaining than those stupid doctors on now. As much as I once loved this show, it is just getting too dull to keep up with every week. Chuck is still an amazing show, I just always forget when it is on, partly becuase I think it is on the same time How I Met Your Mother is on, which I am kind of more into watching. But I shall catch up on Chuck soon. The Office sort of lost some of that special spark for me. I don’t quite know what that special spark was, but something about the show just isn’t right. Maybe it was Pam going off to art school… but I believe she is back now (?) so maybe I’ll start tuning back in. And oh yea, there is Psych, which I think actually ties with How I Met Your Mother for favorite TV show. Seriously, that show is severly underappriciated. Go give it some love and see the brilliance that I see every Friday night at 10pm on USA network (why yes, that was a shameless plug).

Lately HIMYM is dealing with a surprising, yet twisted, love triangle and the sadness of it is just killing me. I absolutely adore Neil Patrick Harris and he really makes the show. Oh and remember how I once said that if my life had a theme song it would totally be this? Well perhaps I should explain that in order to prepare you for whats coming up. One of the characters in HIMYM is Robin, who moved to America from Canada and is a news anchor. One of the episodes centers around this big secret Robin has that explains why she refuses to go to malls. Turns out she was a Canadian pop star named Robin Sparkles and her one hit was Lets Go to the Mall and she had to go to a bunch of malls and sing the song. Well in another episode we find out she had another hit, Sandcastles in the Sand in which she deals with a terrible breakup. I think what really makes this video amazing is the total cheesiness. It gets a touch of the 80’s with the overbearing, journal-snooping father played by Alan Thicke (Growing Pains) and the friend with attitude played by Tiffany (80’s singer), but  the best part has to be the love interest played by James Van Der Beek (Dawson’s Creek). He happened to be playing the love interest of Robin in that particular episode as well, so it was really a bonus. If I am ever feeling sad I play this music video not because it is a sad song, no, but because the insanity of it cheers me right up. Hopefully this will just show you the awesomeness of HIMYM. Enjoy.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “It was the greatest week and a half of my life…

  1. Fun fact: Secret Life of the American Teenager and How I Met Your Mother are both part of a group of TV shows I naturally assumed were reality shows until someone I knew actually talked about them. For instance, I just found out Secret Life isn’t one just now, and I think I realized How I Met Your Mother wasn’t when you did your “Ten TV Characters” list.

    Also, this isn’t relevant to this post, but I just found out yesterday that Army Wives is, in fact, also not a reality show.

    Weird. That’s what I get for not watching TV.

Leave a Reply

