What is beauty?

Many girls will define beauty as being stick thin, tall, very slender, tan skin, blond hair, etc. Me? I’m none of those things. I am far from being stick thin, I am 5 ft. 3 in., I have curves, I am pale, and I have dark hair. And I am trying to embrace it all and love myself. I know girls with eating disorders. Girls who contemplate having eating disorders. And for what? They want to throw up their food or worse- starve themselves- so they can fit into a size zero jean. I hate to break it to you ladies, but being so thin your ribs and backbones stick out, just isn’t all that sexy. People are not perfect.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “What is beauty?

  1. That’s not defining beauty any way you break it down. That’s just defining models, who aren’t real people anyway.

    In real life, tall is weird. I’m 6’1″ and I’m bothered if a girl is even eye to eye with me. If heels make her taller than I am? Then fuck that.

    Tan skin can go either way. For me, I only like it if it’s natural. Like, I love it on Indian girls or Native American girls, but I think it’s way too easy for white girls to go too far and fuck it up. If the rest of your body is white, stay white looking. Most people with naturally dark skin have other natural features that compliment it.

    The blond thing is far from a standard, so that one just sounds more like you were trying to name as many things as you could to separate yourself. Don’t do that. You’re better than that.

    The weight thing has its limitations. Since I am absurdly skinny myself, I can’t bring myself to criticize skinny girls so long as their skinniness can primarily be attributed to a fast metabolism (which is my problem). Likewise, I can’t criticize somewhat overweight girls just because it’s the flip side of my problem. It’s just genetics. Unless they’re eating fast food every single day, it’s probably not their fault.

    Plus, personality goes a long, long way. Fuckable and dateable aren’t synonyms.

    Sorry for the language, Tammy.

  2. improbablefiction

    Thats exactly my point. Ive talked to the girls here as well as back home and asked them what they think being beautiful is defined as. What have they said? And I quote, “stick thin, tall, very slender, tan skin, blond hair, etc.”

    I didn’t just pull those out of nowhere. Some girls, maybe not all, but more than you think really do believe that is what true beauty is.

  3. We should just burn all the magazines.

Leave a Reply

