Twirling.

I worked on some homework today. I got some info together for my photographer I have to do a presentation on. I wrote about 150 more words in my short story. I started on my poetry assignment. We have to read a narrative piece given to us by our professor then pick two different styles of poetry (from a handout) to write an original poem based off that narrative. The narrative was an excerpt from the book Dispatches about the Vietnam War. This is what I wrote (its pentameter style, at least I hope, for anyone who cares):

Crossing the canal stepping onto dry land
Cold dead bodies in the middle of the street,
A stiff little girl with an outstretched hand
Those left alive searching for something to eat.
Looking at the wreckage along the wall,
Wondering how anyone could survive it at all.

After that I was far to depressed to write another one. Also I have no idea what I’m going to say because I used all the good bits of the narrative on that poem. I am attempting “standard habbie” for my next one, Lord help me.

I also watched Charlie Bartlett today, which is one of the funniest movies. Oh yea and it snowed a little. Only tiny flurries that didn’t even stick, but its still snow and that makes me extremely happy.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Twirling.

  1. Genevieve

    O.K. I have never seen Charlie Bartlett so after we watch Eloise at Christmastime we will have to see that!! I think Sara Anne will want to see it to and I know James will!!! And that has to be one of the saddest poems ever. No wonder I hate war movies!!

  2. Opinions on the movie 300.

    Go.

    Because all I can think of when I read that poem is that dying little boy whispering “They came through the blackness…”

  3. improbablefiction

    I’ve only seen the movie 300 once or twice, so I don’t remember every exact detail, but I do remember that I loved loved loved it.

    I actually wanted to watch it the other day… but yes, I loved it. Even though it is terribly sad.

  4. I approve that answer.

Leave a Reply

