I finished rewriting my paper. Thank GOD!!!

So last year when I was attending SEU (a small Assemblies of God university) we were required to go to chapel four days a week. Once I was sitting there and it was missions week or something and the president of our university (who often preached in chapel) was asking people what different languages they spoke. Our president is fluent in English, Spanish, and Hebrew. So there I sat, alongside my two friends Elizabeth and Jessica, and all of these people are standing up and saying what languages they speak. There were the usual, Spanish, French, Russian, the unusual, Mandarin, Greek, etc. So I lean over to the girls and ask them what they think would happen if I stood up and said I spoke parseltounge. (For those of you who do not know, parseltounge is what Harry… from the Harry Potter series… speaks when he talks to snakes.) And once the girls stopped dying from laughter they said people would probably lay hands on me to cast out the demons. And it took everything within me not to stand up and say it.

Sometimes when I am just in my room, walking somewhere, or sitting in class this story will pop into my mind. And I will attempt not to burst out laughing (at least, if in class) because for the rest of the sermon we could not stop laughing. I don’t know why we thought it was so funny. But the other week I was talking to Jessica and I was quoting some random TV show (because that is what I do. I throw movie and TV quotes into regular conversations and most of the time… ok 98% of the time no one knows that I did this) and I said something in Spanish. Now I have no idea what this quote means, and for the life of me I can not remember where I heard it from. I think it might have been Arrested Development. But maybe not. And no, I am not even going to attempt to spell it. But I said this phrase and Jessica just looked sort of creeped out like, and then she burst into a fit of laughter. I asked her why it was creepy and she said it sounded like I was speaking parseltounge, because I say it in this slow deep voice rolling the “r” sound as you typically do when you speak Spanish. Then I recalled the incident from chapel, told it to her, and we died laughing all over again.

I love moments like that.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “I finished rewriting my paper. Thank GOD!!!

  1. What is the phrase with the rolled “r”? You left out that detail.

    I’m curious if I know for sure what it’s from.

  2. Genevieve

    I LOVE it when you get tickled!!!! You just cant help it you just go on and on!!! I miss that SO MUCH!! Like remember the time we went to Hairspray and laughed through the entire thing ESP. THE DODGE BALL SCENE!! Or when Linc was fixing his hair!! I can hear the bells!!

  3. improbablefiction

    Caleb- I addressed this already… I said I wasn’t going to spell it. But now I guess I have to. It was something along the lines of “venti rosa” but I’ve been saying it so long I don’t even know if that is exactly what the person says. But best wishes seeing if you can tell me what its from. Its driving me crazy.

    Genevieve- I had a hankering to watch Hairspray the other day!! Jessica said “Go Lauren, Go Go Lauren” (referring to my paper) in the tune of John Travolta and it made me laugh so hard!! I loooove that movie so much.

  4. Erin

    OMG you should have done it!! I would have DIED.

    And Arrested=<3. 😉

  5. improbablefiction

    Erin- Could you imagine Rutlands face?? One word: PRICELESSSSS.

    hahaha

Leave a Reply

