Another post in which Lauren talks about Twilight.

First things first: Its not that I hate Edward. Don’t get me wrong.

But do I love him as much as I did when I first read the books? No.

Ok so lets begin. My thoughts when I first read the books were “this Edward kid sure is nice and all, but what man in his right mind talks like this??” There were many times that I read the books and actually laughed out loud at the cheesiness of his lines. Seriously. But I didn’t have anyone to tell because Jessica is 100% in love with Edward so there is no way she would agree with me.

Then I found this video on youtube (which does contain a spoiler about the character of Jacob, btw):

Finally!! I found someone who agrees with me!! It’s a fun feeling. Now I know the following statement may not make sense to you, but it does to me. Yes, I am very happy Bella ended up with Edward and will always feel this way, but the more I reread the books the more I just prefer Jacob overall to Edward. Doesn’t necessarily mean that he has to end up with Bella, but out of the two guys I would probably be more attracted to Jacob. I’m just saying…

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Another post in which Lauren talks about Twilight.

  1. I appreciate this mentality…though I have no idea who either of these characters are or why they’re different (One is a werewolf? Is that it?). If nothing else, I concur with her breakdown of the first dude’s lack of personality.

  2. improbablefiction

    Yea, basically Edward is a vampire, Jacob is a werewolf, and Bella is the human. Enter complicated love triangle.

    After watching her thoughts, and the more I think about it, Edward really doesn’t have a great personality. Give me Jacob any day.

  3. This continues to mean nothing to me. But I’ll just make up a reason:

    Clearly it’s because werewolves are like puppy dogs and no one can resist a puppy dog. So even though he’s an otherwise carbon copy of the vampire version, he’s hairier, thus making him superior. Also, since he can only be killed by a silver bullet, that makes him about a thousand times more badass than a vampire that can be killed with any sharp piece of wood, trickle of holy water, or glimmer of sunlight.

    Or something. Girls don’t make sense. That’s the best I’ve got without even touching a search engine. That last one actually seems like a pretty legit reason…based solely on my knowledge of horror mythology.

  4. improbablefiction

    Actually it has more to do with the fact that Edward is all pretty boy and just… less masculine that Jacob.

    Jacob is nice and strong and basically all around more of a man than Edward.

    And I prefer manly men. It really has nothing to do with one being a vampire and one being a werewolf. I’d go into further detail, but you really have to be a girl to appreciate it/talk about it/even care.

  5. I’m sticking to my theory because it’s cooler.

Leave a Reply

