Hey look internet! Im not dead!

So its been a few days since I last posted. But I’ve been a bit busy with school and shopping and seeing movies and shopping and hanging out with people. And then there was shopping. So yeah; I’ve been living the London life.

Yesterday I went to the cinema with my friend Macie and we saw The Women. Now this was a movie we both have been wanting to see for a while now, and I am still trying to decide if it was worth the 8 pounds. I think the experience of it all was, but the movie itself? Mehh. We get to the theater and payed for our tickets, and we find that we have assigned seats. Like a row letter then a seat number. So we venture up the stairs into the “theater” and I kid you not it was the smallest theater ever. It had maybe 6 or 7 rows of seats, and there was a curtain in front of the screen with a purple spotlight on it. It felt like we were in a tiny Broadway theater. The previews started up, but first they showed about 20 commercials like you would see on tv. Then the actual movie trailers started and after they were over the curtains closed again. And no one reacted; I am assuming this is normal. Except now the movie is over 20 min late from the time it was supposed to start. So Macie and I just sit there and wait. Finally the movie starts up.

Now I must say that I really love all the actresses that were in the movie. I love Meg Ryan, always have always will no matter what she does to her face, and Debra Messing, so of course I was rooting for them. But in the beginning all I could say was “jeepers these ladies can’t act.” Especially Annette Bening- I don’t know what was up with her. They all felt as though they weren’t relating to each other and it was like a high school play kind of acting. And don’t get me started on Eva Mendes. I thought she was great in Hitch, but for some reason I did not like her in this movie at all. I will admit it got much much much better and I really did end up liking the movie overall. By the end I was practically salivating over Meg Ryan’s wardrobe. But those first few scenes made me wince.

What also made me wince was the problems the daughter was going through. She could not have been more than 12 or 13 and she was stick thin, yet every scene she referenced how fat she was. Yes I think this is an issue today with young girls, even girls my age. You airbrush and tuck and prick supermodels and plaster them on magazines and tell girls “thin is in” and make them want to starve themselves. Its sick, its wrong and it is what our society is about these days. Do I want to be thinner? Of course. Not many girls I know are honestly happy about their appearance. Why? Because the media crams certian ideals down our throats, who cares about the concequences. While I was glad they brought this issue up, I was a bit dissapointed in how they handled it. Yes there are certian clebrities out there who speak about loving thier curves but in the movie it seems as though the older women brushed it off as being “silly.”

The second thing I winced about was the male role (or lack thereof). Now I know this movie is called The Women, and aptly so, and I know it is based off of a (I want to say…) 1939 remake which does the same thing, but there was not one man in the entire movie. Not in the main roles, not in the background, not in the pictures on the walls, not in any sort of statue shown; even the dog was a female. Actually the only guy shown was the baby at the very very end of the movie. I can’t make up my mind if I liked this or not. The whole movie is about Meg Ryan’s husband cheating on her and her battling with what to do. Kick him out, get a divorce, work through it? Meanwhile they find the woman he is having an affair with (the perfume woman at Saks… “the spritzer girl”) and try to scare her away/put up a fight. Yet the audience never sees the husband. He is mentioned, referred to, there is a letter he writes, a few phone calls he is supposedly on, but no voice or face is ever heard or shown. At first I wanted to see him, to show them in the argument when she finally confronts him. But I suppose the more I think about it, it is a good thing they don’t because the movie is technically supposed to be about the women and what they are going through, blah blah, its late, I’m tired and that is the best argument you will get from me right now.

All in all it was a different experience that I was hoping for. I would like to see it again, though I don’t think I will put another 8 pounds ($15.40) into it. Lets just hope the Brideshead Revisited is everything I have built it up in my mind to be. I can not wait for that one and I so will drop 8 pounds to see it. Please don’t disappoint me Matthew and Emma!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Hey look internet! Im not dead!

  1. The whole idea of not having any men in it whatsoever makes me really curious to see how they pull that off. That said, man-law dictates that I will never, ever, ever see this unless a girl is present and its at her recommendation. So… don’t look for a review from me anytime soon.

    But on the skinniness thing:

    Girls need to have a healthy appetite. The ones that only eat dry salads and carrots scare me. I like a girl that enjoys a giant cheeseburger from time to time. With a milkshake. And fries. Vegetarianism is a good way to lose points. I like to know a girl eats actual food. Food that goes beyond the limitations of what a deer would eat.

    If a girl is thin it better be because she eats like a bear and just happens to have an absurd metabolism. Starving yourself for fashion is dumb.

    Since you didn’t ask, I thought I’d share.

  2. improbablefiction

    First, if I was living remotely close to where you were I would drag you to the theater and make you see the movie. Because I could.

    Second, I really do appreciate your insight on the weight issue. We girls read our girlie magazines and there are always comments from guys saying how they like their women size 0 or 2, with the occasional comment of a guy who likes a girl with curves, but we never believe it. Its nice to know there are guys like you out there, who don’t want to date sticks. I mentioned I would like to be thinner, but that does not stop me from eating what I want. I just eat smaller portions and exercise. I never want to be stick thin and quite frankly I never will be- I enjoy trying new foods, cooking, and eating too much. And I could never be a vegetarian. Ever.

    I just wish more girls could hear your side and realize people will accept them the way they are. It really is sad.

  3. Genevieve

    Wow!! Now I don’t feel so bad that Delaware charges $10.00 for an evening movie!! Well yes I do but I am still going to see An American Carol!!! And so should you!

  4. Rubz

    Hmm…I just don’t like most meats. I don’t eat pork, because I think it tastes gross and it isn’t healthy for you, I don’t care so much for red meats because they can’t have any blood so by the time I get my steak it is so dry its bleeeh. I don’t eat anything that lives in water because the taste is repulsive to me. I eat chicken and turkey because I do actually like it, but I looove veggies and fruits so much I could live without the poultry.

Leave a Reply

