Turn away from this village of sin…

Today I was rather tired after class, so I decided to curl up in bed and watch a movie. After about 20 minutes of going through and figuring out what it was I wanted to watch, I put Moulin Rouge in. I haven’t seen this movie in a long, long time, because I get so sad after watching it. Even though the fate of the main characters is revealed, oh, about five minutes into the movie, I still manage to get completely caught up in the story and when the ending finally does happen, I wonder why I ever watched the movie to begin with.

As I rewatched it today, I forgot how completely wonderful it is. Sad, funny, scary, disturbing, etc. Every time I view it I find something new; some hidden meaning in a line, something in the background I never noticed before, and that is half the fun of watching movies over and over. Yet every single time I watch it one thing never changes, and that is my favorite scene. I don’t know how many people will find this to be thiers, but if I had to pick one moment in the film it would be when they sing Le Tango de Roxanne. This is one of the most hauntingly beautiful scenes- the juxtoposition of Christian/Nini Legs in the Air/The Unconscious Argentinean and Satine/The Duke all tied together with the lyrics show the different level of emotions in each particular character, and they way the actors portray those emotions is unbelievable.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Turn away from this village of sin…

  1. El Tango de Roxanne is actually my favorite sequence as well. Ewan McGregor’s part is so powerful, the Argentinian’s is haunting.

    I’ll have to do a Top 5 on this sometime. It’s such a fantastic movie. One of my all-time favorites.

  2. improbablefiction

    Ooh. yes yes you should do a top 5. Because I wonder if I would agree with you.
    Most likely I will.

  3. Well, the number one is always the trickiest pick and that one already seems shockingly agreed upon. Maybe in the next couple days we’ll see how close the rest of it is.

  4. Rubz

    Defo the best scene in the movie. Is it wrong I go weak when I hear Ewan? Or see him?

  5. improbablefiction

    Mm I don’t think there is anything wrong with that. Because I do the same thing. Because he is just *that* sexy.

Leave a Reply

