Bring on the Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

Internet it is time for the joys of Rhyming Cockney Slang (also referred to as Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, the title of this post. Clever huh? I know, I know). Now, if you have ever seen a wonderful little movie I like to call Green Street Hooligans, you may know what I am talking about. If you haven’t seen the movie, then what is wrong with you? Stop reading this and go see it. NOW.

So what is rhyming slang?

“Rhyming Slang phrases are derived from taking an expression which rhymes with a word and then using that expression instead of the word. For example the word “look” rhymes with “butcher’s hook”. In many cases the rhyming word is omitted, though it is not always omitted so Cockney expressions can vary in their construction, and it is simply a matter of convention which version is used.” (information found here)

And here are some fun examples that amuse me:

Almond Rocks= Socks

Apples and Pears= Stairs

Loop the Loop= Soup

German Bands= Hands

Barnet Fair= Hair

Bucket and Pail= Jail

Uncle Bert= Shirt

Weeping Willow= Pillow

Oxford Scholar= Dollar

Bees and Honey= Money

Bloody Mary= Hairy

Needle and Pin= Gin

Iron Tank= Bank

Holy Friar= Liar

And the list goes on and on and on and they get funnier and weirder. So you should totally start talking in Rhyming Cockney Slang. Because then you would be awesome.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Bring on the Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

  1. Please tell me you’ve seen the movie Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. That’s the far more important issue here.

    I’m a little depressed by how many people I know that haven’t seen that movie that I discovered in the past couple weeks.

  2. improbablefiction

    Ummmm only like a million times. I love that movie. When I was younger I sang Toot Sweets non stop. I seriously wanted to live with them.

  3. Then we can still be friends. Not that I un-friended any of my other friends that haven’t seen it, but I’ll find an excuse to drop you yet.

Leave a Reply

