I’m very indecisive.

This is a little question thing I found and thought it would be fun to fill out. As the title of this posts indicates, you will notice that there are a few questions I give one direct answer in. Sorry internet. I am just extremely indecisive.

1. The first musical I ever saw on Broadway was: On Broadway- Chicago (2005). The first show I saw on tour? Phantom of the Opera (1990-something).
2. The musical I would most like to see again is: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. That musical was the funniest I have seen yet, though the crude jokes were a bit awkward with my rather conservative grandmother sitting next to me. However, her reactions only added to the humor.
3. The musical I never want to see again is: The Rockettes. I know, I know, it’s not technically a musical. But sitting there I continuously thought to myself “why am I not at the Gershwin seeing Wicked? Why did we spend money on these tickets? Precious money that could be going towards a ticke to a play??? WHY?”
To answer this question correctly…I have never seen a play (so far) where I have walked out thinking “I never want to see this again.” However, I have seen Phantom of the Opera five times, so I think I am a tad tired of that one.
4. The best performance in a Broadway musical by a woman I’ve ever seen is: Sherie Renee Scott in Dirty Rotten Scoundrels.  She hit the most amazing notes and held them for what seemed like an eternity.
5. The best performance in a Broadway musical by a man I’ve ever seen is: like you even have to ask. Norbert Leo Butz in Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. The man is a comedic genius. He improvised so much of his scenes and always managed to get his co-stars laughing at the most inappropriate times, which made the audience applaud and cheer.
6. The person I wish they never cast was: I don’t remember her name, but she played Meg in The Phantom of the Opera I saw in Pittsburgh. She couldn’t sing to save her life and I’m pretty sure the only way she got that part was by having a very friendly relationship with the director. If you know what I mean.
7. The person they should have cast was: Anyone else with at least a half-way decent singing voice.
8. My favorite Broadway choreography was in the show: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. The way the director used the sets and costumes just enhanced the brilliant songs.

9. The lyric/line that always brings a lump to my throat is: There is not a specific lyric, but the two songs that always manage to make me at least tear up are “If I didn’t Believe in You” and  “Nobody Needs to Know” from The Last Five Years. There are others, but these songs are the most played from my playlist… at least 30 times each.

10. The stupidest lyric/line I’ve ever heard is: I can’t think of the stupidest… but the silliest/craziest/wtf would def. have to be “What Could be Better?” from the musical Baby. Any song that tells the journey of a sperm finding the egg has to be the craziest song out there.

11. The first musical I had to go back and see twice was: When I was younger it was a tie between Phantom and Joseph. I was just amazed by the lyrics and costumes and story line. Now that I am older I still enjoy those musicals, but given the choice I would see Wicked for a third time. Or The Lion King. That was really really really good.
12. The first musical I ever walked out of was: Never happened.
13. The most under praised and overly deserving show in my opinion is: Is He Dead?
14. The most overly praised and under deserving show in my opinion is: I’m going to say In The Heights. And the Rockettes.
15. The song show tune I’m most likely to sing while I’m dancing around at home is: “A Summer in Ohio” from The Last Five Years. Or “Honey Honey” from MAMMA MIA! Or “She’s in Love” from The Little Mermaid. Or anything from Wicked.
16. If I could recast any role in a current Broadway musical with a performer of the past it would be: Bernadette Peters as Madam Morrible in Wicked.
17. If I could recast a current actor in a Broadway musical that was before their time it would be: Sherie Renne Scott in Once Upon a Mattress. Or in The King and I. Or in Cats.
18. The show they should never change a word of because it is already perfect is: The Producers. Or Wicked. Or RENT. Or Spring Awakening.
19. The show I’d most like to get my hands on and rewrite is: I have absolutely no idea.
20. The role I was born to play on Broadway is: Glinda from Wicked. I actually don’t know. There are simply too many parts I want to play. Penny Pingleton from Hairspray. Kira from Xanadu. Mimi from RENT. Cathy from The Last Five Years. Ursula from The Little Mermaid. Wendla from Spring Awakening. Eva Peron from Evita.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’m very indecisive.

Leave a Reply

