Them weddin bells are a ringin…

Last Wednesday my family traveled to Ohio for my cousin’s wedding. My sister and I were bridesmaids, and my brother was an usher/ walked my Aunt down the isle. My mom was there to help keep my Aunt’s sanity in check and my father? He was just there for the show.

When we got there we ate lunch then helped fold napkins, which was no easy task, because the person who made them decided that it would be silly to sew a straight seem, and why not sew the most crooked seems EVER? That way, when you want to fold them for a wedding, you can’t get the napkin to look neat to save your life. Oh those meanies.

That night was the bachelorette party (woohoo) but my cousin is very reserved so we didn’t do anything crazy. We played a few games then she opened presents. My sister and I put our money together and got her a really nice, really expensive gift (which she loved) but the real fun came when she opened my card. I wrote a little song and a short little message, which I will not be posting on here, and it got a better reaction that I thought. Because she is so very reserved and doesn’t talk about things discussed at bachelorette parties out loud (unlike my other cousin) I thought “caution be damned, I’m going to make that girl blush” and boy did she. However because of her reaction I was forced to get up in front of everyone and not only sing the song but read the message. Fun times I tell you. After our gift Audrey opened the rest of the pile which only led to more shocking comments and revelations that made every single person in the room blush. But that is the whole point of bachelorette parties, so I suppose it served its purpose. After all the gifts were unwrapped the party died down and those who had to go to work early the next morning left to go to sleep. The rest of us sat around and talked for a few hours then got ready for bed. Because we are wild and crazy like that.

The next day Audrey went to go pick up the groom from the airport and go to the courthouse to do all that paperwork stuff. Courtney (my other cousin) moped waited around all morning for her boyfriend to come, and once he did she dragged us all over town, getting her paycheck and going to cash it, blah blah. He was very quiet, but seeing how we have never met before, I can understand why. That night we went to see Mamma Mia! and about ten minutes into the movie this group of kids came in and started talking and it seriously took them about fifteen minutes to decided who would sit by who. Once they were seated they still kept talking and even though I was on the other side of theater I could still here them. Which was very annoying. A couple people in the theater told them to be quiet and they were for a whopping total of about fifteen seconds. Then three girls from the group moved over to my side of the theater because apparently their friends were annoying them too. So the movie went on and the kids kept talking and leaving and coming back in and talking and moving to the other end of the theater and leaving and talking and on and on and on. Well if there is one thing my mother and grandmother can not stand it is people talking in the theater. So my mother tells them to be quite and sit down, and they do…not. By the time Meryl Streep begins The Winner Takes It All my mother has had quiet enough and gets up to get a manager. I have never seen kids move faster. The manager comes in and tells them to be quiet, but that really did nothing because as soon as she left they continued talking.

Once we left we met up with Courtney and her friends at the bowling ally and hung out there for a while, then came back home. The next day was the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. That morning we (the four bridesmaids and the bride) all went to get our nails done. We came home, changed and went to the rehearsal where we met the groomsmen for the first time, and may I just say, I had the handsomest groomsmen of the all. All of the bridesmaids were hoping they would get to walk down the isle with him, and when they lined us up I was the lucky chosen one. So fun! Then we went to Smokey Bones for the rehearsal dinner (which is a long story in and of itself… oh Smokey Bones) and that was a lot of fun.

The next day was the WEDDING!! We started off the morning going to the hair salon to get our hair done.  After the hair came the makeup, which we went Macys to get done. The woman who did my makeup was an absolute doll and I wish she could do my makeup every single morning. By the time we got back to the house it was time for the limo to pick us up and take us to the church so we could finish getting ready and take pre-ceremony pics. We sat around and I took a bunch of pictures which I will be posting later, and we laughed and talked and got excited and nervous and anxious. Before we knew it, it was time for the wedding to begin.

The ceremony was beautiful, and my grandfather was the minister. This was very special and something all the granddaughters hope to have at their wedding. The best thing was how well my grandfather did. A few years ago he had a stroke and he has good days and bad days, so of course we were hoping for a good day. He messed up a total of two times during the whole ceremony so I’d say it was an awesome day. Audrey and Chris also chose to write their own vows. Actually Chris really wanted to write original vows and Audrey wanted to do something other than the unity candle, so they compromised. Chris’ vows were sweet and funny and really special. When Audrey finished her vows there was not a dry eye in the room. It was really beautiful. After the ceremony while the guests had cocktail hour the bridal party took pictures, which was a lot of fun. There were some craaaazy poses. Then we came back to the reception where the best man (Chris’ brother) and the maid of honor (Courtney) gave their toasts. The best man was really nervous and gave a nice speech, whereas Courtney was right at home. The kid is a natural in front of an audience because she loves attention and loves to act. Plus she is a Speech Communications major. The first half of her speech was basically all about her, but then she got into it and the second half made everyone cry. It was actually an awesome speech; I was very surprised. Next was the first dance and the father daughter dance, then the dance floor was opened up to everyone. The groomsmen were annoying because they did not dance but that did not stop us from having fun. I even got my 70 year old grandfather out there.

As the night rolled on, and alcohol was consumed, we got very fun and we brought the photographer’s beautiful son on the dance floor and had a great time dancing. The next morning we had a brunch with the family and Audrey and Chris opened the rest of their gifts. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful week. I do plan on doing at least one or two posts just of pictures I took, because there are some really funny ones in there.

I got closer to my Aunt this trip. When I was younger for some unknown reason I was terrified of her. I would never ask her a direct question unless forced, and now I talk to her with ease. We joke and play pranks on other family members and it is just a totally different relationship. I really am happy that things have changed for the better. They are planning on coming up for Christmas, so I am totally ready for that.

Overall the entire week went well. There were a couple of times I wanted to slap some of my relatives, but that is to be expected. At least with us. There was some yelling and some screaming, and some total bitchiness, but we didn’t let any of that get in the way of celebrating why we were really there- Audrey and Chris. Ever since I was little we knew Audrey would be the first to get married, and it turns out we were right. We also said I would be the second, so I suppose I should get started on that. First step: find a groom. That always helps.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Them weddin bells are a ringin…

  1. In all fairness, there’s not a whole lot to miss during Mamma Mia no matter how much talking is or isn’t going on.

    And Lauren drinks alcohol, eh? What’s your favorite?

  2. improbablefiction

    Lauren occasionally drinks alcohol, because she is a boring good girl. Lauren’s favorite wine would be Sutter Home White Zinfandel. And her favorite mixed drink would probably be a Sex on the Beach, as girly as that may be.

    But Lauren hasn’t tried a lot of different drinks…yet. She usually just drinks small portions of her sister’s.

  3. Tell Lauren white wine has an awful aftertaste.

    And that rum is god.

    Tell her that.

  4. improbablefiction

    Lauren has had rum. And it is good. Especially with coke.

  5. It’s like heaven in a cup.

Leave a Reply

