Eggshells

So I’ve been perusing blogs of friends, mutual friends, and strangers for a little bit… and I have to say, a lot of people are so impressive that I am unimpressed. Let me explain… they are trying to impress. I think they have the idea that they must have something deeply profound and intellectual to say in order to write. Nothing but lofty ideas and references to the coffee addiction that fuels them, like that makes it credible somehow. But I am neither fooled nor interested. Maybe you do sometimes muse over the state of Evangelicals today, maybe you have done some reading on the cosmos, perhaps life and all its purposes has entertained you… but that is not your life. That is not you. There is no way that all you do is sit around and ponder and define yourself by your ability to understand and explain theological concepts and proposals. Sure, we all have those leanings, it will come up, and such commentary is important… but what do you do, love, think, feel in the meantime? Who did you talk to, what did you read, when did you laugh last? He is in all of that too, you know. Perhaps more so than in fluffy pretentious conversation. Give yourself a break. Give us a break. And just live.

I found the above quote while reading a friends blog, and the minute I was finished reading it, I knew I had to copy and paste it here on Improbablefiction. This is something I have been thinking for the past few weeks, and I did not really know how to put it into writing. So rather than try and fail miserably, I thought I would shed some lights on her insight. I too read various blogs and sometimes they make me feel as though I too should be blogging about nothing but what God is doing in my life or how I am going to find Him etc. But when I read the above paragraph, I realized that hey, it is ok to write about random things that don’t mention God. Because I am living.

This semester I had a similar problem as well. I was in a few classes with some really theological people, and while I have nothing against them, there seriously is a time and a place. I know that by going to a Christian University I am going to meet my share of pastors and ministry majors, but I really do not like to feel like I am walking on egg shells every single second I talk to them. One in particular thing that gets me is when I am in Literature class, ready to discuss the latest book, and the same people keep bringing the topic back to the Bible or to devotional books. Seriously? We are reading a book about this woman committing murder because she is going insane, and you are going to tie in the tree in the forest to something in the Bible? It just does not make sense. 

I guess I am ranting because I have been so quiet all along. I tried to have talks about things with some of my friends, but they always turn in to political debates and half of the people do not even know their facts. Then it goes back to the same thing- religion, and while I think it is good to discuss, these friends get vicious and pretty soon I am unable to decided if we are sitting in a secular school or a Christian University. 

I guess to get back to the original point of this post, just please take the time to let the advice in the first paragraph really sink in. Yes I think blogging is for whatever you want, but please stop trying to impress. Be yourself. People will like you just the same. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

